We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fares
Mont-roig del Camp, Spain

May

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2024via mobile
Excellent Hotel and very nice people.
Excellent inroom dinner. I fully recommend this hotel event for affairs or holidays.
Hotel is very close to Nelson Mandela Square and a shuttle to drop you directly to the square is working very 30 minutes
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Check in earlier possible
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review
Responded 27 May 2024
Dear Valued Guest

On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing about your recent stay.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with the entire balalaika team as a way of celebrating the great guest experiences we delivered. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Andrea Hunter
guestrelations@balalaika.co.za

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 972
No fees just great deals
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 1 955
  • StayForLong
    R 1 400
  • Trip.com
    R 1 955
0.3 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
R 3 800
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 800
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 544
  • Trip.com
    R 3 800
0.7 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 570
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 570
  • StayForLong
    R 1 508
  • Vio.com
    R 1 570
0.4 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 340
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 433
  • Algotels
    R 1 057
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 433
0.3 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 150
R 734
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    R 734
5.6 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Relax poolside after a long day!
R 1 229
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 568
  • Agoda.com
    R 912
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 568
9.8 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 680
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    R 620
  • Hotels.com
    R 680
0.5 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 462
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 500
  • StayForLong
    R 1 239
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 500
0.8 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 003
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 986
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 650
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 986
9.9 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 3 147
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 120
  • Vio.com
    R 2 875
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 120
10.0 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sandton
Reviews (1 290)
Filter reviews
1 290 results
Traveller rating
376
563
219
71
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
376
563
219
71
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bull run restaurant lords bar nelson mandela square reception area safe area south africa sandton mall johannesburg business gautrain concierge shuttle gym safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1 290 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

The hotel is situated in an excellent location and is clean with friendly staff. It can get loud at nights around the pool so maybe avoid the ground floor.
I stayed here before and I have the same type of problem. If you have booking or billing query it's impossible to reach the department involved. I called and mailed but no lifts the phone or mails an acknowledgement. Its very disappointing.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank HughJKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

It is always encouraging to hear feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with the management team as a way of improving guest experiences we delivered. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Andrea Hunter
guestrelations@balalaika.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

A very nice Hotel, located 15 minutes walking from Mandela Square (mall).There is a shutlte bus service every half hour from hotel to the center, and vice versa, where is a mall. The sugestion from the people from the hotel was to avoid go there walking, because it is a little bit dangerous. The hotel was one of the cleanest that visited during our trip to the South Africa. The breakfast and the dinner were very satisfying and delicious.The stuff very polite and serviceable.
Rooms were comfortable It was really a 4star++ Hotel.

Room tip: USE THE SHUTLLE BUS TO MOVE IN THE DOWN TOWN
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kdeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Your feedback has been shared with the management team as a way of celebrating the great guest experiences we delivered. Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Andrea Hunter
guestrelations@balalaika.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Convenient location in Sandton. The hotel is a bit dated. The staff was helpful. Our room was about as far away from the lobby as it could get (this is a much larger hotel than you might imagine). The air conditioner in our room could not keep up so it was a very warm stay. The courtyard/pool area looks lovely, although we didn't have time to enjoy. If you're looking for a budget stay in Sandton, this place is fine.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Southmansion
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Dear Southmansion,

We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we continually strive to improve our services. Please know that we are actively addressing the issues with the room's condition and the air conditioning to ensure that future guests do not encounter similar problems.

We would love the opportunity to make it right for you. If your travels bring you back to the area, please don't hesitate to reach out to our team directly, and we will do our best to provide you with a much-improved experience. Your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us. Thank you for sharing your concerns.

Kind Regards
Emmah Makgoba
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2024 via mobile

Terrible experience at this hotel after only allowed to check in after 19h00 without being able to provide a reason. Had to wait in lobby for hours and was not even offered a drink.

Avoid this unwelcoming place and rather go stay at one of the other, better hotels nearby.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Cuba_304
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2024

Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review us regarding your previous stay, id like to send my apologies for the inconvenience experienced as I can see this had a negative impact on your stay however I believe that you were not informed about the arrange that was made,

It is not our usually practice for arriving guests to be able to only check in after 7pm , however when the enquiry for the accommodation was made the organizer was informed that we can only assist with accommodation if the delegates are will to only check in after 7pm which is when the rooms will be available, these term were accepted by the organizer who made the booking on your behalf

I hope this clarifies why you had to check in after 7pm

We do look forward to seeing and hosting your at our hotel in the future

Kind regards
Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2024 via mobile

The hotel was close to center that means near everything like clubs, resteurants and mall.good staff with full of hospitality make me feels am at home.
Room was clean with 24 hours of services so you can order anytime if you want something, they provide two botlles of water per day for free.
Car parking was for free too.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tusethom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Dear tusethom,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

It's always our goal to provide exceptional service and create a memorable experience for all our guests, and we're thrilled that we were able to achieve that during your visit.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind Regards
Emmah Makgoba
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews