We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David77
South Wales, United Kingdom

Good location & restaurant

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Aug 2022
The Bull Run restaurant at this hotel was excellent, it’s large and very busy but the service was excellent on each of the 4 evenings that we made reservations. The food and wine quality, and value make it very popular with non-residents. The reception and bar are welcoming with friendly efficient staff always around and a regular shuttle bus to Nelson Mandela square and adjacent shopping mall. Our room was a long walk from reception and was dated but very clean. No view from our room but comfortable to sleep in. Very good b&b rate for a city.
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review
Responded 11 Feb 2023
Dear David L

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel as well as for your positive feedback!

We sincerely apologize on behalf of The Protea Hotel, Balalaika for any inconveniences faced during your stay.

Please do note that it is possible to book a room with a view e.g., garden facing when making reservations.

We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards

Moloko Rasefate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 886
No fees just great deals
  • ZenHotels.com
  • StayForLong
    R 1 229
  • Priceline
    R 1 886
0.3 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
King Superior Room
R 4 261
R 4 050
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 050
  • Trip.com
    R 4 042
  • Algotels
    R 4 261
0.7 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
R 2 401
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 399
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 404
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 2 404
0.4 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 251
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 431
  • Trip.com
    R 1 029
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 433
0.3 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 553
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 537
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 404
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 540
0.4 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
Bella Casa Guesthouse
R 748
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 216
  • Agoda.com
    R 455
  • Hotels.com
    R 736
5.6 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
Relax poolside after a long day!
R 1 436
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 659
  • Agoda.com
    R 972
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 441
9.8 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 147
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 114
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 081
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 120
10.1 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 977
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 978
  • Agoda.com
    R 758
  • StayForLong
0.6 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 982
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 986
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 954
  • Vio.com
    R 1 985
10.0 km from Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sandton
Reviews (1 290)
Filter reviews
1 290 results
Traveller rating
376
563
219
71
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
376
563
219
71
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bull run restaurant lords bar nelson mandela square reception area safe area south africa sandton mall johannesburg business gautrain concierge shuttle gym safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1 290 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2022

The hotel is located in a nice area. Parking was free, with quick and easy access to the hotel. Beautiful courtyard; a green haven with rich birdlife. You forget you are in the middle of a city.

Fresh and delicious breakfast.

The rooms are old but well kept, functional and clean, so I have no complaints. The bed was comfortable and I had a good sleep. I recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ThendoNdou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2022

Dear Thendo Ndou,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review us, it is highly appreciated.

Providing great hospitality is our number one goal and we believe we achieved this.

We delighted to find out that you loved every aspect of the hotel from the breakfast to the garden and to the rooms.

We sure hope to welcome you back soon and create yet another memorable experience.

Kind Regards,
Ashley
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2022 via mobile

My family wanted to stay in Sandton central. I wanted to add to my Marriott loyalty points so picked this hotel.
Firstly, the parking is not on premises and comes at an additional cost.
I also took the package deal, which includes breakfast and on arrival I was told it doesn’t include breakfast. Still not sure what the package deal then includes, if the app says stay for breakfast. That is how it works at the other Protea hotels I’ve stayed at.
The reception area and other entertainment areas are renovated and nice.
The rooms were awful!
Our bedding was stale, discoloured and had spots on. Same with the second room we took for our children. The shower leaked so in our children’s room, that after the first shower, my son used ours. Which also leaked, but not as badly. So we all had very quick showers as not to flood the place. Bathrooms are ‘renovated’, but old and old fashioned.
After a long trip, this destination was a disappointment.
We will never go back to this hotel. May be conveniently located in the CBD, but not at all a good experience for us.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gr1970Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2022

Dear Gr1970Gr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us, it is greatly appreciated.

It is through guest feedback that we are able to improve on our service that we deliver to guests.

On behalf of the entire hotel TEAM, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused for the duration of your stay. You have brought to my attention the housekeeping and maintenance issues you encountered in the room, and would like to assure you that I have brought it to the attention of the relevant department heads, as this is not up to our standards that we usually pride ourselves by.

Once again, I apologize for our TEAMs shortcomings, and hope that you will be willing to give us another chance to deliver you the real exceptional service if you travels ever bring you back to Sandton.

Have a lovely day further, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards
Riona Soni
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2022

Had a nice 2 night stay.

Check in was fast and efficient.
Room was ok, but fine for the price one pays.
Breakfast was great, but actually no service at tables.. basically it was self service all over...
Dinner service at steak restaurant was great and service was excellent.
Perfect access to the marc center.

Keep up the good work.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Werner d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2022

Dear Werner D,

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our team members were able to make it a memorable one for you. Your feedback has been shared with the rest of the TEAM as a way of celebrating the wonderful experience we have delivered to you.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!


Kind Regards
Riona Soni
Guest Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

Did not stay there. Had meal which I’ve done many times before. They would not honour my Prokard discount as “it was a public holiday”
Since it was Dec 31 at lunch time it could not have been a public holiday.
Will not return and have cancelled my Prokard.
Humiliating experience

Room tip: Beware of this hotel if you are a Prokard holder. They bend the rules
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank davidwJ3795FU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

Dear davidwJ3795FU,

Compliments of the new season and thank you for visiting our restaurant.

I believe the matter has been resolved as it was handed over to Marriott Customer Care and Prokard Head office. They have refunded your membership back. We wish you a wonderful year 2022.

Kind Regards
Moloko Rasefate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2021 via mobile

Very deceptive establishment offering a beautiful garden in tranquil surroundings. The rooms may not be as modern but are very well kept and the staff are super friendly and helpful.

Offers a wonderful breakfast in a scenic setting, great bar and an on-site restaurant.

Very central in Sandton and just a few minutes to the M1 if you need to dash up to Pretoria, the airport or down South.

Beyond value for money

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lubabalo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2023

Dear Lubabalo M,

Thank you for sharing your amazing feedback from your last experience at our hotel, we really appreciate that you had such a fabulous stay with us, and we hope to be hosting you again. Have a great day!

Kind Regards
Moloko Rasefate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews