We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Protea Hotels
R 1 823
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Booking.com
R 1 823
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
Expedia.com
R 1 823
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 289)
Filter reviews
1 289 results
Traveller rating
376
562
219
71
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
376
562
219
71
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bull run restaurant lords bar nelson mandela square reception area safe area south africa sandton mall johannesburg business gautrain concierge shuttle gym safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1 289 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

A fine hotel but—Whatever you do do not eat breakfast at the Colony Restaurant . Staff are rude and food will likely be cold. Would rate this as my worst experience in any hotel restaurant anywhere in the world. Bull run restaurant is good for lunch or dinner.

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank davidwJ3795FU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Dear davidJ3795FU,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback and we would like to apologise for short failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. Rest assured, we have shared the message appropriately with the Hotel TEAM to address all areas of concern to ensure that the staff are always staying focused in offering the best hospitality experience ever. Please do let us know when you return to turn this around on your next stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and stay warm and safe! Kind Regards Moloko Rasefate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2021 via mobile

After checking in and not being happy with my room , I was delighted with the upgrade that I was given. The hotel is currently under renovation so perhaps that is why. The breakfast was phenomenal and the staff are really friendly.
Nearby is a shopping centre so you can get any essentials you may have forgot.
Lovely bar when the restrictions were lifted.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank tamjan2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Merecia Kruger, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Dear 365giannad,

Thank you for sharing your most positive feedback about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate that our TEAM made your stay more memorable and comfortable for you to have a great experience at the end. Let us know when you return and we hope to see you soon. Stay warm and keep it safe! Kind Regards Moloko Rasefate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2020

En route to Bloemfontein, booked this hotel to overnight after flying in from London. With COVID restrictions it is unfair to mark the hotel down because of limited facilities. I will say the staff have created a safe clean environment and go out of there way to welcome guests. Breakfast is not in the usual location, they are using the Bull Run restaurant whilst renovations continue. In spite of restrictions there is sufficient choice, hot items cooked to order, no buffet. For those who have visited before, Nelson is still around, just resting at the moment.

Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Prinsloo, Marketing at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Dear Neil H. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. COVID has certainly changed the way we do business and are glad you felt safe with us and enjoyed your stay. When you return in the future you will enjoy the new rooms, Conservatory Restaurant and Destinations Lounge which should all be completed by the end of January 2021. Kind regards, Debbie Prinsloo, Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2020

I would like to give the Balalaika Sandton Johannesburg a 5 STAR rating. On arriving from Doha on a repatriation flight from New Zealand, our 10-day quarantine was made so comfortable and pleasant, I was actually.....sad ;( to leave them. From the Receptionist to the waitrons who delivered our food, to the men who took our rubbish out, I want to say "you lifted our "Covid" depression. Congratulations to a wonderful team.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ButterflyWings77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Prinsloo, Marketing at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2020

Dear ButterflyWings77. Apologies for a late response but have only picked up your Review this morning. We appreciate you rating and comments. Certainly COVID taught us all a new way of doing business and looking after our GUESTS. So glad you enjoyed this experience with us. Hoping you are well and safe and that you will return to our Hotel in the future. Best regards, Debbie Prinsloo, Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2020 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for 10 days. From the start to finish the staff was incredible. They tended to my every need and did so with a smile and happy nature. The hotel grounds are spotless and the room is very well designed and super clean. The bed is probably the best bed I’ve slept in, in years. The food was incredible. The managers were on top of the their game and are running a fantastic hotel. I can not recommend it highly enough. Do yourself a favor and stay there. Thank you so much for my stay.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank robertsV9100LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Prinsloo, Marketing at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Dear robertsV9100LV. Your Review is most welcome. It is always such a pleasure to receive such good news. Your comments regarding the STAFF and food will be passed on so that the STAFF can see that their efforts are acknowledged and appreciated. We really hope you will come back to stay with again once Lockdown is over so that you can experience the true PH Balalaika service. Best regards and stay safe. Debbie Prinsloo, Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews