We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 147)
Filter reviews
1 147 results
Traveller rating
311
522
202
64
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
522
202
64
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bull run restaurant lords bar crown court stock exchange mandela square colonial style bit dated walking distance gautrain station shopping centre safe location buffet breakfast free shuttle reception area shuttle service an oasis beautiful garden
Filter
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 1 147 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Bed and room space are good, hotel is located in a nice neighborhood, although far from most of the touristic options. The building is enormous, what makes things less practical (but not a big issue). Room service after 10:30 PM (when the restaurant closes) is poor, with a few sandwiches and portions available. There is a discreet notification at reception desk about power shortage in South Africa that affects the hotel even though they have power generators – it would have been nice to be warned that we would have to take a cold shower in the early morning.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simoni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Dear ‘Simoni N’.

Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’
Your kind words about our rooms and location is appreciated. As you know we are not the typical high-rise building, but stretched out with 2 beautiful gardens. Most of our valued GUESTS enjoy walking through them getting to their rooms. – Please accept our sincere apologies that you had a cold shower in the morning. Did you inform our TEAM about this? - How sad that you felt that our after hour room service options are not satisfactory.- Sadly, load shedding has become a reality in South Africa, and yes, we do have generators, so our valued GUESTS will not become too much inconvenienced.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

I enjoyed my contact with Balalaika last week, right from booking to check in and the whole stay. The staff were awesome especially the short Indian waiter "i forget his name" I think Dean he was always smiling and helpful. the rooms were clean and were cleaned daily whatever time that is convenient for you especially if you want to sleep in. This was an awesome experience and now i hope to be staying at all Protea establishments wherever they are. Special mention is also Marita & Mpho at the reception area, always upbeat and helpful. Kudos

Room tip: Courtyard rooms are homely
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nabwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Dear ‘Nabwire’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. This is much appreciated. Your praise about Dean, Marika & Mpho in particular means so much. We will certainly congratulate them for their exemplary service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015 via mobile

I was back at the balalaika between the 16th and the 21st having read some negative comments on the service and especially on the time it takes to check in I decided to go and see for myself.
To my surprise the service was still excellent I checked in in less than a minute was given a beautiful room near the reception the staff where extremely friendly and helpful am definitely going back
Thankyou balalaika

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank brianmV799LQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Dear ‘Brian M’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. We are delighted about your compliments and we will certainly congratulate our STAFF you commended for their exemplary service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

The hotel website states: ""Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home". Yes, this is true if your home is dated, you don't clean the shower, don't own an iron, don't always have hot water in the shower and your toaster doesn't work.
As an example of the poor service, trying to get an iron and ironing board is a farce. If you do succeed in getting one to your room, then don't be surprised if they wake you up at 6am to ask for the ironing board back. Oh, and then even though I mentioned to reception that this was annoying, they did it again the next day! Other bad points are that the bathrooms need modernisation and the breakfast is poor.
On the plus side: location is very good, the staff are friendly and the wi-fi is reliable and quick.
But I wouldn't stay here again and don't recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavinconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Dear ‘Gavinconn’.

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on ’tripadvisor’. How sad to read that your experience with us was such a disappointing one. Please be assured that your concerns have been taken to heart and have been addressed with the relevant departments, as this truly does not reflect the high standard of service we are usually proud to offer. Your comments in particular regarding the iron & ironing board, have been taken very serious and we will be ensuring that this problem is rectified going forward.

We encourage our GUESTS to talk to us personally in order to cultivate customer relations and ensure a positive experience every single time. Having said that, may we thank you for mentioning that our STAFF is friendly, the WIFI is reliable & quick and the location ideal.

I am pleased to inform you that there are exciting projects in the pipeline for the refurbishment of our rooms.

We are sorry to hear that you will not return.

Kind regards,

Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015

The room was clean. Breakfast was great but the dinner in the Bull Run was not good. Staff treated guests with respect and was helpful. Free shuttle to the mall was offered. The rooms are far from the reception and restaurants.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MsimangaMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2015

Dear ‘MsimangaMR’.
Your feedback on ‘tripadvisor’ is much appreciated. We are delighted about your compliments and we will certainly congratulate our STAFF you commended for their exemplary service. Our hotel is not the typical high rise hotel, but has 2 lovely gardens, which most of our GUESTS enjoy walking through getting to their rooms. Should you wish to have a room in the Balalaika section, please advise this, when making your reservation and your room will be booked accordingly.
May we ask what the concern in the Bull Run was?
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jὄrg Zwinscher
General Manager & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews