We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FAA1996
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

OK Stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 May 2024
Rooms are all spacious and well fitted, although the light controls and especially TV controls take a bit getting used to.
Service was OK, staff at restaurant sometimes seemed a bit frazzled by simple requests. For example ordering two of the same drink at the same time but having them delivered 10-15 minutes apart. That being said food was pretty good once it arrived.
Internet went out during our stay and it was impossible to reach front desk at times. Not sure how this happens but not answering phones for in house guests is unacceptable. A lot of constriction also going on, indoor restaurant non existent and one of the pools closed. Food is served in what seems like a temporary space.
Not sure I'd recommend this hotel unless you must be in Johannesburg and specifically in that area.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review
Responded 07 Jun 2024
Dear FAA 1996,

Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to share detailed feedback of your recent experience. I am disheartened to read that we did not meet your expectations during this visit, this is in no way the standard of service that we endeavour to deliver and would like to connect directly with you to discuss your feedback in more detail. Please can I ask you to contact me on managingdirector@saxon.co.za so that we can discuss further.

Best regards,
George Cohen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 941
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 950
  • Trip.com
    R 3 770
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 984
1.7 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 972
Go to your Happy Price
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 1 955
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 972
2.7 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 567
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 1 584
  • Vio.com
    R 1 503
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 570
2.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 221
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 273
  • Vio.com
    R 1 087
  • Priceline
    R 1 119
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 688
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    R 648
  • StayForLong
  • Hotels.com
    R 680
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 981
  • Agoda.com
    R 974
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 391
9.9 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 462
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 490
  • Priceline
    R 1 337
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 492
2.8 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 113
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 147
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 999
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 120
10.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 273
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 257
  • Vio.com
    R 1 156
  • Priceline
    R 1 273
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 003
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 985
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 841
  • Priceline
    R 2 564
10.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sandton
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveller rating
768
63
30
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
768
63
30
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel high tea four seasons gorgeous hotel koi pond luxury hotel long flight jo burg butler suite safari johannesburg botswana mandela oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 899 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2024 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night. The hotel has an interesting history associated with Nelson Mandela who stayed here after his release to write his memoirs.

The hotel is beyond luxury with the excellent service which goes with it hand in hand. The drive to the hotel from the airport is interesting and I will say no more. It is only in relation to the difference between the townships and the unbelievable luxury next door.

Having said that for luxury and service worth a visit.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hamilton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Top notch from the minute you arrive at the gate! The Saxon does not leave anything behind when attending to the needs of its guests. Spectacular grounds, lobby and especially the rooms are top-notch at this hotel. The Spa treatment I received was amazing, as well.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B9492CFdavidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2024

What a fabulous hotel. My only regret was we were only staying one night. From the moment we arrived we were treated like special guests. Check in was seamless and professional. We booked through American Express and to our delight were upgraded to the Presidential Suite. It was beyond amazing, just beautiful.

We were able to get an even later check-out than A/E offers, as our flight was late in the evening. We enjoyed exploring the property for the day and found it to be exceptional. We met one of the managers who told us the history of this home. Privately owned, which puts it above chain hotels in our opinion.

The Coi pond was beautiful and the pool area so relaxing. We had a late lunch on the patio overlooking the pool area. It was just what we needed ahead of a couple of long flights to Tanzania. The staff was super nice and attentive, and or burgers were delicious.

We are big fans of The Four Seasons, but are so happy they were closed for renovations or we would have missed this grand hotel. We highly recommend Saxon Hotel and would love to return for a longer visit.

Room tip: The entire property is lovely. The pool area was great
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2024

The pillows a re fluffy and my bed was perfect, the staff welcomed me and they were friendly.
The entire hotel was clean and nicely organised.
I loved the view and my car was parked at a reasonable distance.
They had the nicest staff and they didn't complain about me being fussy.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passenger59224772765
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2024

It was a very good experience, I'm looking forward to going again. Their service is top notch and I'd recommend to friends and family. Also for business conferences as well, they facilities are out of this world. Definitely worth every penny.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank siphesande m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews