We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 14 500
Fully refundable before Fri, 03 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
R 14 500
Fully refundable before Sat, 04 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
R 14 500
Fully refundable before Sat, 04 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveller rating
767
60
30
18
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
767
60
30
18
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel high tea four seasons gorgeous hotel koi pond luxury hotel long flight jo burg butler suite safari johannesburg botswana mandela oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 894 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2023 via mobile

This Hotel was extremely nice! We loved our stay and if back in Johannesburg hope to stay here again! The food was outstanding the staff was kind and very attentive. The check in check out process was seamless! The proximity to the airport was doable!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023


Dear Karen C,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted that our team took such good care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

The whole Saxon experience is outstanding. From the reception, to the staff, the facilities and dining we were spoilt. The room set up was also amazing. The spaciousness, the ambiance, the bathroom robes and bedding were of high quality. Lastly, the spa was soothing and was exactly what the doctor ordered.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank magebabongani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dear magebabongani,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and were able to take some time to relax at the spa during your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2023 via mobile

Our first time

WTlarm welcome.

Shown to our magnificent room by Phillip.

Superb lunch- pricy - by the lake in the sun. Great food and service from Vincent and Antonio.

Superb pricy wine listbe careful.

Just like Kenwood a gracious location in a park.

Spacious modernised rooms but no towel rails. Too elegant!

Infinitely better than the intercontinental at the airport.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andrewgG3269AQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dear andrewgG3269AQ,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I will share your kind feedback with Phillip, Vincent and Antonio.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2023

We weren't supposed to stay at this hotel, but I am so happy that we did! We were booked at the Four Seasons and they contacted me a couple weeks prior to say they were closing for renovations and rebooking us at Saxon. I was irritated originally because we had plans based on staying at the Four Seasons, but Sonica from Saxon was incredible at assuring me that they would make the transition seamless. They not only made it seamless, but made it beyond our wildest dreams. The property was stunning, the service was wonderful and they generously upgraded us to their Presidential Suite. My only regret is that we were only there one night!

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 319christinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dear 319christinas,

Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely feedback, I am so happy with Sonica and our team took care of you during your visit.

We truly hope we are able to welcome you back for a longer stay soon.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2023 via mobile

1. Infrastructure 5 Star.
2. Food 3 Star.
3. Environment 5 Star.
4. Service 3 Star.
5. Management 2 Star.
6. Rooms 3 Star.
7. The Rooms are not clean.
8. The Rooms are outdated.
9. Sanitary Ware is old and ugly.
10. Spa is 3 Star.
11. The lobby in the villas is nice.
12. Very romantic place.
13. Senior Management is rude especially the GM and the Front Office Asian Lady.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MNMupfekeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dear MNMupfekeri,

Thank you for your review, please can I ask you to contact me on managingdirector@saxon.co.za with further information pertaining to your experience with us? I would like to investigate further.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews