We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Farenzy
Evanston, IL

Best hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jul 2022via mobile
The reception, the service, the accommodations and the facilities and surroundings were first class. We recommend the Saxon very highly!
It was our first time in SA and we were very impressed. The place is super classy. We will go back and stay longer.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review
Responded 03 Feb 2023
Dear Farenzy,

What a lovely review! Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa, and your home away from home in Johannesburg soon.

Best regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 972
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 1 955
  • eDreams
2.7 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 119
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 457
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 458
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 032
  • Vio.com
    R 1 014
  • Algotels
9.9 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 462
  • Priceline
    R 1 337
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 466
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 466
2.8 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 147
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 122
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 996
  • Priceline
    R 3 147
10.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 003
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 986
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 899
  • Priceline
    R 2 559
10.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
King Superior Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 950
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 869
  • Priceline
    R 3 984
1.7 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 1 584
  • Vio.com
    R 1 404
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 715
  • Agoda.com
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 272
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sandton
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveller rating
768
63
30
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
768
63
30
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel high tea four seasons gorgeous hotel koi pond luxury hotel long flight jo burg butler suite safari johannesburg botswana mandela oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 899 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2022

Great Hotel with great staff and excellent Restaurant. The Spa was fantastic as well. Suites were great but ask for one in the main hotel. Restaurant was superb and all the staff were great. Shower was one of the best i have ever had.

Room tip: Get a room in the main building.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ianjrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2023

Dear ianjrose1,

Thank you for your lovely review! I'm delighted to hear our showers rank as one of your favourite, please pop a note through to managingdirector@saxon.co.za with your details so we can update your suite preference on our reservations system.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2022

We had the privilege of staying at this gorgeous boutique hotel before and after a safari to Zambia and Botswana. The rooms were the most beautiful, spacious and luxurious we've ever visited. A lovely bottle of champagne greeted us upon arrival. The service couldn't have been any better. Their spa is most excellent - I tried the Himalayan Salt ritual. Eating alfresco near the pool with heated lamps was a delicious sensory treat. The Saxon is a little piece of heaven!!

Date of stay: June 2022
Thank KristinB843
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2022

Dear KristinB843,

Thank you for this wonderful review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Saxon. I hope to welcome you back one day soon.

My best regards,
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2022 via mobile

I have stayed at the Saxon twice in the last few years. It is absolutely amazing. Located in Sandton in a neighborhood full of gigantic homes and businesses, the Saxon is the class of hotels. Beautiful rooms situated on acres of trees and beautiful flowers, with four restaurants, a cigar room, a monument to Johnny Walker liquor, a friendly staff, and a historic library. To the best of my knowledge, it is not within walking distance of any stores or restaurants but I’m not sure you really need to leave the hotel - it is that good. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank WILLIAM J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

Dear William,

Thank you for sharing this review of your stay with us at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa. We are delighted to receive this feedback and to hear that your stay with us was absolutely amazing.

We hope to welcome you back for your third stay with us soon!

All the best,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2022

Cannot recommend a hotel more than the Saxon.
After a long flight we were surprised to find that the staff had upgraded our room to a huge suite in honor of our 35th wedding anniversary. We walked into the suite and found champagne, fruit, snacks, fully stocked bar, and a rose petaled bed. The absolutely beautiful multi-room suite had modern decoration in relaxing tones, as was the whole resort, with a sun porch.
The Saxon is a true resort and was beautiful (and spotless) from the pools, heated and unheated, and koi pond as well as the terrace and bar areas. The spa offered hotel guests use of the hot tub, steam and sauna- lovely.
The staff had their restaurant, Qunu, stay open late for us as we had a delayed flight to Joburg. Qunu was the best meal, food, service and ambience, during our 15 day trip to the region. The hotel arranged for a private half day tour of Joburg that really was tailored to our requests.
When our flight back to the US was canceled and we had to stay a night in Joburg at the end of the trip , we called the Saxon and they secured a room, set up a dining reservation at Qunu, and picked us up at the airport. They commiserated with us and upgraded us to a villa room- the outdoor walkway to that part of the area is just magnificent. The staff was so kind and helpful and turned such a disaster into a relaxing additional day of our trip. Thank you Saxon family!

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drivinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

Dear drivinggirl,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your stay with us at Saxon, Hotel, Villas and Spa and also for choosing to celebrate your 35th wedding anniversary with us!

It is always a pleasure to receive this kind of feedback from a guest - creating this type of special stay is exactly why we do what we do.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

All the best,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2022 via mobile

This was a beautiful hotel. The service was excellent, the rooms were super clean and luxurious . The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. We accidentally left behind sunglasses and they reached out to get them back to us. The whole experience was great. #mamouthsafaris made all of our arrangements for us. We had no idea about hotels etc. Excellent choice, top notch.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Regina4homes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

Dear Regina,

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review of your experience with us at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa! We are delighted to hear that your whole experience was great and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews