We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jandira W
Zurich, Switzerland

Always a great experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Apr 2022
It was not our first time at the Saxon and will for sure not be our last one.
We just love the Saxon, not only because of the great history is has been part of but also because of the art work throughout the Hotel and the elegance of the interior design.
We spent two days on our way to Botswanna and the service was just amazing.
The crepe suzette prepared en voiture, just amazing, the superb SPA treatments, my favourite cocktail from the bar man...and many many other things, were just fantastic.

Big thank to Masood from concierge, (who helped us getting our malaria tablets) the great CrepeSuzette Chef ( don´t know the name, unfortunately) and the wonderful Zandile from the SPA, she has magic hands.
As said, it was not our first time and for sure will not be our last one.
Congrats to the SAXON team for making this journey so wonderful

Date of stay: April 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review
Responded 03 May 2022
Dear Jandira,

Thank you so much for sharing this review of your time with us at the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us and will will certainly pass your compliments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,
George Cohen
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 950
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 950
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 723
  • Priceline
    R 3 984
1.7 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 972
Go to your Happy Price
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 1 955
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 972
  • Trip.com
    R 1 948
2.7 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 493
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 480
  • Vio.com
    R 1 425
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 480
2.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 158
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 276
  • Priceline
    R 1 119
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 276
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 729
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    R 672
  • Hotels.com
    R 728
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 736
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 981
  • Agoda.com
    R 974
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 394
9.9 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 147
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 054
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 899
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 054
10.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 273
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 260
  • Vio.com
    R 1 123
  • Priceline
    R 1 273
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 003
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 986
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 850
  • Priceline
    R 2 003
10.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 462
  • Priceline
    R 1 337
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sandton
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveller rating
768
63
30
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
768
63
30
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel high tea four seasons gorgeous hotel koi pond luxury hotel long flight jo burg butler suite safari johannesburg botswana mandela oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 899 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2022

I selected the Saxon restaurant for my husband birthday based on great reviews of the food and service. I sent an email requesting the reservation which was never answered, followed by phone where next to the table reservation I asked for a birthday surprise, which I was promised - an inscription on the desert plate. Desert came without any acknowledgement and when I went to complaint, I was told it would come with the bill. The waiter serving us had not a clue but tried to do her best to solve the situation and brought a plate with inscription Happy Birthday and some piece of chocolates. Finally the bill arrived with the items listed we did not have. Although very nice food, the overall impression is bitter. For such a high priced restaurant I expect more attention to the customer's wishes and no cheatings on the bills. Never again.

Date of stay: March 2022
Thank 294Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2022

Dear 294Eva,

Thank you for bringing your recent experience at the Saxon to our attention. We strive to offer our guests the best possible journey with us and we are saddened to hear that this was not what you experienced. We would like to discuss this with you further, please could we ask you to be in contact with us at info@saxon.co.za in order for us to do so.

We would also like to thank you for choosing to celebrate with us.

We hope to hear from you soon!

All the best,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2021 via mobile

The 3 of us booked 2 rooms at the Saxon hotel for a birthday celebration. On arrival we asked to take pictures at certain features (away from the public of course) that we had seen from other guests that were previously there, which was what attracted us to the Saxon at the first place. The reception manager Gustav was so rude and implied that we were not the kind of clientele that normally books at the Saxon because their usual clients do not request for such. Even his body language was so dismissive to us. I have never felt so undermind by an establishment where I have paid such a premium price of our money to. It left such a bad stint to our stay. Such an unpleasant let down experience from this hotel.

Luckily Lloyd (The head Sommelier) and Brain went out of their way to make the rest of the stay tolerable. Such commendable service from them.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bon3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2021

Dear Bontle,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Saxon with us. We are sorry to hear that your time with us did not meet with your expectations, and we will certainly investigate. Could we ask that you are in contact with us at managingdirector@saxon.co.za for us to discuss this further.

All the best,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2021

Wanted to highlight the super efficiency, knowledge and amazing disposition of Samantha, Dumisani and Ashwin at The Saxon Hotel in Sandown, Jhb.
We needed a venue for 18 people urgently and these amazing people stepped up and over-delivered on everything, venue, food, ambience, decor and advice - am so grateful.
Keep up the great work!

Date of stay: November 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Desiree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Dear Desiree,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here with us at the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa. We are delighted to hear this feedback and we will certainly share your comments with Ashwin, Dumisani and Samantha.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2021 via mobile

I visited the Saxon to celebrate my friend’s arrival in South Africa. What an unforgettable experience. Chia-Wen Huang from the hotel made the experience so special by explaining all the dishes, the different teas and made as feel very special. We received complimentary champagne. Then were served cold and warm sandwiches and canapés as well as a variety of sweet treats. The variety was so much we couldn’t finished everything. We were offered the opportunity to take the left overs dishes home. Absolutely worth the money.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BvdLinde71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Dear Bernie,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of your Tea experience with us here at the Saxon. We are delighted to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your time here with us and found the experience to be unforgettable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2021 via mobile

Booked a night away for my husband's birthday. Stayed with my 5 year old daughter. Wonderful experience, the staff catered so well for her. They even managed to do inroom spa treatments for all of us. We felt pampered and spoilt. The food was excellent. My only criticism would be to ensure the pool steps are cleaned of bird poo...my daughter took one look and refused to go into the pool. Will definitely go back.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank serimood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2021

Dear Serimood,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa and for choosing to celebrate your husband's birthday here with us.

We are delighted to hear that you felt pampered and spoilt and found the food to be excellent. Thank you also for sharing your feedback on the pool steps, we will action this soonest.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews