We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bernie
Johannesburg, South Africa

Out of this world High tea experience

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Nov 2021via mobile
I visited the Saxon to celebrate my friend’s arrival in South Africa. What an unforgettable experience. Chia-Wen Huang from the hotel made the experience so special by explaining all the dishes, the different teas and made as feel very special. We received complimentary champagne. Then were served cold and warm sandwiches and canapés as well as a variety of sweet treats. The variety was so much we couldn’t finished everything. We were offered the opportunity to take the left overs dishes home. Absolutely worth the money.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review
Responded 22 Nov 2021
Dear Bernie,

Thank you so much for sharing your review of your Tea experience with us here at the Saxon. We are delighted to hear that you and your friend enjoyed your time here with us and found the experience to be unforgettable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Best regards,
George Cohen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 950
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 950
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 723
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 402
R 1 158
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 276
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 276
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 729
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    R 672
  • Hotels.com
    R 728
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 220
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 974
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 394
9.9 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 694
R 1 462
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 492
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 492
2.8 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 147
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 054
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 899
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 054
10.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 273
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 260
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 226
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 003
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 986
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 850
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 986
10.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 1 955
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 972
  • Trip.com
2.7 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 480
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 480
  • Vio.com
2.0 km from Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sandton
Reviews (899)
Filter reviews
899 results
Traveller rating
768
63
30
19
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
768
63
30
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel high tea four seasons gorgeous hotel koi pond luxury hotel long flight jo burg butler suite safari johannesburg botswana mandela oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 899 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2021 via mobile

Booked a night away for my husband's birthday. Stayed with my 5 year old daughter. Wonderful experience, the staff catered so well for her. They even managed to do inroom spa treatments for all of us. We felt pampered and spoilt. The food was excellent. My only criticism would be to ensure the pool steps are cleaned of bird poo...my daughter took one look and refused to go into the pool. Will definitely go back.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank serimood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2021

Dear Serimood,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa and for choosing to celebrate your husband's birthday here with us.

We are delighted to hear that you felt pampered and spoilt and found the food to be excellent. Thank you also for sharing your feedback on the pool steps, we will action this soonest.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021

My friend and I had the most amazing high tea experience at the Saxon. Incredible service from the valet parking to the waiters/waitress. The place was clean and neat, and the food was delicious. Courses were paired wonderfully with both sweet and savory dishes. Our list of dietary requirements and food allergies were provided prior to arrival and all dishes were prepared accordingly.

We went out to celebrate my birthday and the pianist even played a little happy birthday tune which was served with a delightful dessert.

We enjoyed every minute of the afternoon and cant wait to our next tea.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TashnViven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2021

Dear TashnViven,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your experience with us for Tea at the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa! It is always such a pleasure to receive this kind of feedback from a guest - and thank you also for choosing to celebrate with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

One of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed.

The suite was very spacious and well organized.
The garden was well maintained and beautiful.
The service was excellent.

I stayed two nights before going to Safaris in Botswana in September.

I would highly recommend this hotel to relax before your adventure.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank yurikitamura
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Dear Yuri,

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us at the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your relaxing time here with us before your adventure in Botswana and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2021

Had coffee and cake at the Terrace Restaurant yesterday. From our arrival to when we left, we were treated extraordinarily well, creating a magical memory for our anniversary. When staff found out we were celebrating, we were presented with a special dessert plate congratulating us. This gesture was the highlight of our day. Staff are friendly but not overbearing. Thank you Saxon Hotel.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceyvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on the Terrace at the Saxon. It is such a pleasure to read your kind words, thank you also for choosing to celebrate your anniversary here with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2021

A truly wonderful experience, from the moment you enter, being welcomed by the friendly staff, to the set up in the Piano Room, the delectable range of sweets and savories, coffees and teas, it’s exceptional. And a special mention to Joy, our waitress, she was so accommodating to all our requirements, she is a real gem. Thank you for making our visit so special.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sari0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
George Cohen, Other at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Dear Sarisha,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful review of your experience with us at the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa. It is such a delight to receive such great feedback - we will certainly share your comments with the team and in particular with Joy.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews