We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$595
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/07
Expedia.com
US$627
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/09
Trip.com
US$525
View deal
Hotels.comUS$627
LHW.comUS$630
PricelineUS$627
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveller rating
713
57
29
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
713
57
29
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel african art presidential suite terrace restaurant four seasons beautiful property luxury hotel an oasis south africa mini bar butler safari johannesburg lyndhurst decadent botswana mandela
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 831 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2021

The outstanding service, beautifully decorated rooms, awesome art throughout, and convenience to all made this a fantastic experience for my wife, daughter, and I. Also don't miss the classic drawings on the wall of Nelson Mandela and other important visitors to this hotel/resort.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpapes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Cohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Dear dpapes123,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us here at the Saxon. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2021

All of the treatments were so great. I was so glad to have been there for such good relaxing time.Also the heated pool outside was in a good place to be in the nature and coming down to realax . The whirlpool inside also for using in a quiet place. I really enjoyed all of them.
I will be back as soon as possible.
Thank you so much to the nice Team.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Ottiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Cohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2021

Dear Ottiko,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your time with us at the Saxon Spa. We are delighted to receive your feedback and to hear that you enjoyed our space.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2020

We actually stayed over a three week period and travelled in the middle. Dale was a fantastic host and we loved our vila luxury suite which we occupied at the beginning and end of our stay.
The staff were great and although I had one slight booking disaster at the Spa the resulting apology and treatment more than made up for it.
The food and wine was excellent and we had a couple of fabulous dinners at Grei.
I really can't wait to return....

Room tip: I prefer to be in one of the villas and on the ground floor
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7clifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Cohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2020

Dear 7clifton,

Thank you so much for your review of your stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that Dale took good care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2020 via mobile

We arrived there for a weekend away only for them not to have any of the bookings we made on their system even though we had proof and confirmation of everything booked. They could not even help us, as people staying at this overpriced excuse for a hotel at their own restaurant. We had to go to Sandton mall for dinner. Our massages was never booked either so basically they wanted us to sit in a hotel room for two days putting up with their bad service! We checked out the same night and did not even get as much as an apology from the hotel!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter28963748
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Cohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2020

Dear Peter28963748,

Thank you for bringing your experience at the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa to our attention. We strive to give our guests the best possible journey with us, and as such we would like to discuss this with you further to see where it went wrong. Please would you reach out to us at info@saxon.co.za in order for us to continue our discussion.

Best regards,
George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2020 via mobile

The front desk service is very good. The resort is very clean and quiet. The breakfast is excellent, but needs more selection. Everything is loveable except for it’s price. It’s pricey, but you do get what you pay for.

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank somewellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Cohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2020

Dear Somewellingtonian,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at the Saxon.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - thank you also for your compliments to the Front Desk Team.

All the best,

George Cohen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews