We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Muhammad Jogee
Johannesburg, South Africa

A Remarkable Stay topped by excellent service

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Oct 2023
A rather overdue review, but good service is never forgotten.
My stay during a work conference was nothing short of extraordinary. I was graciously upgraded to a luxurious suite that exceeded all expectations. The spaciousness, elegant finishes, and attention to detail made for an exceptional experience.

The hotel staff were outstanding, displaying genuine warmth and a commitment to ensuring a perfect stay. Every interaction, from check-in to housekeeping, was characterized by professionalism and attentiveness.

A special Thank you to Mr. Bilal Essop and his team for going above and beyond to enhance my stay and that of my team.
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: Book a suite if you can, the rooms are huge.
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suzette Pather, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review
Responded 12 Oct 2023
Dear Mr. Mohammed Jogee

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Katherine Street and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted that our product and service delivery met and exceeded your expectations. Your comments have been shared with all members of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Suzette Pather
Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 886
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 886
  • StayForLong
    R 1 221
  • travelup.com
0.5 km from Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
R 4 050
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 050
  • Trip.com
    R 4 047
  • Priceline
    R 4 085
1.4 km from Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
R 2 401
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 2 404
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 404
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 404
0.8 km from Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 166
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 392
  • Trip.com
    R 1 030
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 392
1.0 km from Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 630
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 1 644
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 541
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 630
1.2 km from Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Free Wifi
Pool
Relax poolside after a long day!
R 1 436
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 662
  • Agoda.com
    R 982
  • Priceline
    R 1 057
10.3 km from Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 147
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 120
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 943
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 022
10.6 km from Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 885
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 986
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 679
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 986
10.5 km from Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 1 462
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 720
  • StayForLong
    R 1 221
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 600
0.4 km from Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sandton
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
262
189
59
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
262
189
59
15
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2023 via mobile

The Business lounge was not working. The check in took 45 minutes. Printers not working. Booking appearing with central reservations but not appearing with hotel. The overall check in experience was very poor and hotel did not have working facilities

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sugar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suzette Pather, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Katherine Street and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the poor levels of service. Your comments have been communicated to the relevant departments in order to assist us in improving our service delivery. We always strive to ensure that each guest have an exceptional experience.

We had a look into why the system did not filter your reservation within time on the system and we had an unexpected down time in the server, however that is no excuse and apologize for the inconvenience one again. I hope that this will not deter you from visiting the hotel again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Suzette Pather
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2023

It feels like a business hotel. Very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, safe parking, free shuttle to shopping mall, friendly service, good dinner in the in house restaurant. Nothing to complain about.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jurgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suzette Pather, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your stay with us.
As a valued guest, your feedback is most important to us, and we are delighted that we have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Suzette Pather
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2023

I had a great experience with them. Free shuttle service to Sandton city, their quick intercoms response. Every where is so clean and their staff are so polite, friendly and competent. I’ll rate everything 💯. They beat my expectations and made my holiday experience in South Africa so stress free and Fun. I’m going back in December.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aminat Kemi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suzette Pather, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Dear Aminatkemia2023

Thank you for staying at Southern Sun Katherine Street in July.

Our sincerest apology for responding so late to your review. We are very delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations.

We looking forward to welcome you back to Southern Sun Katherine Street.

Kind regards
Suzette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2023

Great location, amazing and helpful staff, Ntombi really looked after us! The meeting room was perfect for our requirements and the rooms were really comfortable. The gym could have been better but was functional. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E4340ITnickc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suzette Pather, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2023

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Katherine Street and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted that our product and service delivery met and exceeded your expectations. Your comments have been shared with all members of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Suzette Pather
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2022 via mobile

Was in the 1 bed apartment with a balcony. Staff was absolutely nice all the way through. Keep it up you guys. It was clean and everything was just great. Very few occasions i got a house keeper who didn't clean well enough or replace the toiletries but a call to housekeeping sorted it out.. Breakfast was okay too and the few times i had dinner the food was good. Would definitely go there again.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 1159Mih
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suzette Pather, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2022

Dear Traveler

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Katherine Street for your stay.

We appreciate your review and feedback. I have noted some of the concerns that you raised and we have addressed this with the department as we always strive to ensure that each guest have an exceptional experience.

We are very happy to hear that the food was good and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Southern Sun Katherine Street.

Have a wonderful day.

Regards
Suzette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews