We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$118
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/30
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/29
Trip.com
US$124
US$98
View deal
Hotels.comUS$118
TravelocityUS$118
Prestigia.comUS$124
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
256
188
57
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
256
188
57
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southern sun my home away from home the hotel staff business trip sandton city room service excellent hotel mandela square rooms are spacious kitchenette cleaners establishment mall security
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2020 via mobile

Rooms are extremely spacious , and complete value for money ! Service in restaurant, in room dining and food menu can be better .. overall , staff are extremely courteous in housekeeping and front desk .

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank bharatswarup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIlal E, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Dear bharatswarup,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Southern Sun Katherine Street.

Your feedback is highly valued and truly appreciated, we will definitely pass the feedback to the restaurant team to improve their menu offering.

Your comments about our team will be shared as it proved to be highly motivational.

We hope that your next stay will be in the near future.

Kind Regards
Bilal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

With a great central location, this hotel is quite well equiped. The athmosphere is welcoming, with a great pool side and bar, right in the middle of a nice garden. The rooms are large with great bed and nice bathroom. Most of them have a balcony or terrasse.
The staff is very kind and helpful.
I will definitely come back to feel at home when traveling.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank jeromemillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIlal E, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Dear jeromemillan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a superb review on your recent stay at Southern Sun Katherine Street.

We are truly grateful for your comments about our team, it is feedback like this that drives us.

The design of the property is truly unique and allows for an extraordinary hotel experience.

I am most delighted to know that we made you feel at home whilst staying with us, we place high emphasis and constantly stress the importance of this with the team regularly.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Bilal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

My overall needs as a traveller were surpassed at this hotel and included the ‘extra mile’ attention. When it comes to me as a frequent traveller this will be ‘my home away from home whenever I visit Gauteng, South Africa Job.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank kodeypather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIlal E, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Dear kodeypather,

Thank you so much for a perfect review on Southern Sun Katherine Street.

We are truly humbled by this feedback and immensely proud that we were able to meet all your needs and preferences during your stay.

Our team is focused on ensuring each client is given personalized attention so that we can create that 'home away from home' feel.

I sincerely hope you will be back soon to enjoy another memorable stay with us.

Kind Regards
Bilal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2020 via mobile

The Southern Katherine Street goes down as an old school hotel with modern touches. The common areas appeared renovated and modern. The rooms themselves are outdated yet very well maintained and clean. In fact I actually loved the rooms, its classic ambience and size. The need was huge and really comfy along with superior quality bedding and pillows. The bathroom was just as reflective of the room. The onsite restuarant served a really good breakfast with all hot options ordered from a menu. All in all I recommend the hotel although it might cater for those looking for more modern rooms.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kovilan_Naidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIlal E, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Dear Kovilan_Naidoo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to Southern Sun Katherine Street.

We appreciate your honesty and feedback in this regard, our rooms are do offer a unique experience compared to any other.

I will surely be sharing your review with the team as it drives us to do more and improve where possible.

I do hope that you will be returning in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Bilal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2020

Room was good but air conditioning unit didn’t work. Breakfast was great, nice coffee. Location a bit strange but there is a free shuttle service to the mall and Sandton Sun which is great but ends at 7pm.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIlal E, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Dear Holly K,

Thank you for taking the to write a review on your recent stay.

Your feedback is what helps us improve our offering and I am terribly sorry the air condition did not function during your stay.

I do appreciate the comments on the breakfast and coffee, this will be shared with the team.

We are in the process of increasing the shuttle time to run until 8pm from the 1 February.

I hope that this will not deter you from choosing to stay with us in future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Bilal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews