We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner out”
Review of Piccolo Mondo

Piccolo Mondo
Ranked #5 of 486 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Simply an amazing dinner on our short visit to Joburg from Australia. Our group had an array of dishes from lamb and chicken curry, salmon, lamb cutlets, chicken alfredo. All excellent dishes and so well presented. Great comfortable setting and waiters very attentive. Very impressed. Definitely do that again (if ever here again).

Thank 668craigw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear Craig W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel and Piccolo Mondo Restaurant.

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward the excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,


The Piccolo Mondo Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2018

It's fine dining at its best. Not only if you are having dinner or lunch but breakfast as well. I ordered the egg benedict it's to die for simply amazing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AskTheRazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear AskTheRazz,

Thank you for taking the time to review Piccolo Mondo Restaurant.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for all your lovely compliments!

We would love to have you join us here us at The Michelangelo Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,


The Piccolo Mondo Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We are always welcomed like family, the staff know your name but treat you like a celebrity. Divine breakfast and champs! Mom was also spoiled this time for her birthday with a smoking dessert! See you next sunday, as we always do for our special occasions. Duma and Sifanelo are absolute gems! We say we come for the croissants and champagne, but their welcoming presence, the fact they make us feel "at home", friendly smiles and excellent service keep us coming back each time.

Thank aliciampotgieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Dear aliciampotgieter,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your visit.

We are happy to hear you had a wonderful experience with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon to experience more of our signature experiences.

Kind regards,


The Piccolo Mondo Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Great selection, outstanding value for money, and prompt & friendly service. Does get busy so come slightly early, or book and request a table to be reserved.

Thank 340akashs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Dear 340akashs,

Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your visit.

We are happy to hear you had a wonderful experiences with us and hope to welcome you back again very soon to experience more of our signature experiences.

Kind regards,


The Piccolo Mondo Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

The staff were very friendly and efficient. We were a bit early for lunch but they invited us to be seated and attended to us immediately. Compliments to the chef, the chicken curry was delicious. Everyone enjoyed their meals, the milkshakes delicious and creamy.

Thank Sakiwi04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Dear Sakiwi04,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel and the Piccolo Mondo Restaurant.

Your feedback is of utmost importance to us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,


The Piccolo Mondo Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piccolo Mondo also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Piccolo Mondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing