We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing wrong here”

Pomodoro Ristorante
Ranked #19 of 264 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Flying solo on a business trip and the Morningside Shopping Center is my go to evening meal venue - this time Italiano! - great tasting food - complimentary Focaccia to snack on whilst reading the extensive menu, I started with Mussels on the 'special today' card - generous portion, soft and juicy in a light wine broth with toasted ciabatta and then a half portion of Ravioli di Vittela - more than enough great pasta filled with veal in a not to creamy tomato sauce - a 250 carafe of nice wine washed it all down - pleasant helpful staff, 'Mamma' making sure I was happy - sensible prices - meraviglioso! - recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GDay1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Average Food and taste. Expected much more plus waiter looked tired and didn't advise much at all. Won't go back.

Thank Kuvengovender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Mr. Govender, thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your experience at Pomodoro and I am truly sorry we did not live up to your expectations. I did call you to understand better what those expectations actually were but you refused to talk to me and put the phone down when you found out who I was. I will not learn anything from your then. What we have learned from our customers over the years is that on Valentine's dinner they prefer to order from our regular menu, as opposed to set menus, and they wish to be left alone to have their romantic conversations, as is expected. We therefore try to be as unobtrusive as possible. If you wanted guidance, or advice, all you had to do was ask. Our motivated and well trained waiters would have gladly helped you. I am also sorry that you found our food to be average. We are a very traditional Italian restaurant, we use the best ingredients we can find in SA and put a lot of love into transforming them into tasty yet simple dishes. Obviously not what you were expecting. Since we will not be seeing you again I wish you a lot of happy and interesting meals at your favorite restaurants and a very happy year going forward. Best regards, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent duck and orange dish. Pasta is also great. Definitely recommend. Will return............

Pizzas are recommended. Scallop dish was out of this world.

Thank BlaizeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi BlaizW, thank you for such positive feedback on your experience at Pomodoro. We work very hard to make sure all is good and are very happy to find out we are doing it right. I look forward to seeing you again soon at Pomodoro to try some of our new specials that change every three week. Cheers, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Found this Italian restaurant all hype with little delivery. Food was served hot but with limited flavour. Had to ask for accompaniments to season our food.
Not great at all.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveldelightbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Owner at Pomodoro Ristorante, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Good day and thank you for sharing your views on our restaurant. I am terribly sorry you found us to be not great at all but cannot comment any further as you gave no details as to where you think we should improve. From our side all I can say is that we buy the best and freshest ingredients we can find in Johannesburg and prepare our dishes with love and passion and following very traditional recipes. Our cuisine tends to be fairly refined and delicate, like all good Italian cuisine. To the un-expecting palate these delicate flavors can be felt as bland but in reality each ingredient should be tasted in balance with the rest of the dish. If you had to add "accompainments" to your dish I suspect you were expecting a different cuisine.
I do hope you will visit us again so we can discuss in person what you think we are missing. In the meantime I wish you lots of happy and tasty meals. Best regards, Stefano, very proud owner of Pomodoro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Always have delicious food and excellent service at this comfortable and well designed restaurant. Food is carefully prepared and service unobstruvely pleasant. A most enjoyable and satisfying meal in a restsurant with a warm and inviting ambience.

Thank Nadene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pomodoro Ristorante also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Pomodoro Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing