We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
227
28
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
227
28
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2020

After traveling throughout the continent, we arrived in Johannesburg for the tail end of our trip (right at the start of Covid pandemic) and were so happy to stay in this amazingly comfortable and luxurious hotel. We needed to regroup, figure out how we were getting back home and what was the status of the world, after having been out of touch on safari. The room was huge, immaculate and everything we needed. Staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort, we even took the hotel driver and car to the apartheid museum and to a great shopping venue. The driver is knowledgeable and friendly and took great care of us.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0mlAwtraVels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace House & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2020

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the last few days of your trip in Africa at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa. Our driver/guide (Tau) enjoys spending time with our guests and he really appreciates your comments. We hope to welcome you back one day, when things are back to normal.

Warmest regards on behalf of the entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020 via mobile

An Oasis of Luxury
If you are looking for a sanctuary to relax and unwind with 5-star service, this is definitely the place to stay in Johannesburg! Having stayed at several branded 5-Star hotels in Johannesburg before, I wasn’t sure what to expect when my husband booked this gem (secretly.) From the moment we arrived the staff has been outstanding and accommodating (not to mention the place is beautiful!) This boutique property, placed 5 minutes from Mandela Square in Sandton, is a respite of luxury and style. The property and rooms are beautifully designed and the “extras” like a stocked minibar (there’s fresh ginger and lemon even) a “makeup” wash cloth and (what appears to be) Aveda products, turndown service with champagne & sweets, and a generous late checkout has exceeded our expectations (thank you Ryno for your assistance-so very gracious!)

And let’s not forget about the service and dining experience! The creativity and quality of the meals need to be recognized as well as the staff! We arrived late (9pm) and had a day of traveling. We were greeted with smiles from Beverly, Ryno and Tatenda. Our bags were taken to our room while they showed us to the dining area. Our 3-course meal was delicious and expertly prepared, quality and presentation 5-stars! The service by Tatenda and Douglas was exemplary - everything was to our satisfaction throughout our meal and they couldn’t have been more accommodating! Breakfast was exactly the same with fresh juices and fruit, pastries and cheeses in addition to the selection of choices from the menu. Service by Ozias again was exceptional!

As a hospitality veteran (both hotel and F&B) I can say this will be the only place we will stay going forward when visiting Johannesburg! The staff members wholeheartedly made this a “Relais & Chateaux” experience! Thank you to the staff for your hospitality, it is greatly appreciated... we only wished we had more time!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank melissafweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace House & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

On behalf of Ryno and the entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa we thank you for this truly wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the personal attention to detail by our team, as well as the food and service at AtholPlace Restaurant. And we all feel so honoured that you prefer AtholPlace Hotel & VIlla over the other 5-star options in town. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay!

Warmest regards on behalf of the entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

do you know what is kindlyness
do you know what es excellent food
do you know what is cleanlyness
do you know what is well being
if you want to experience all of the above then book at this amazing place. you aswell can get tours with their own and experienced guide. i cannot imagine a better place at Johannesburg

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace House & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful feedback and recommendation about AtholPlace Hotel & Villa. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards on behalf of the entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2020 via mobile

One of the best hotels I can remember staying in for many, many years. Stunning rooms, lovely grounds and superlative staff, especially the wonderful Beauty, the afternoon/evening reception manager. The staff can’t do enough for you. The hotel driver, Tau deserves special mention as well, who took us around for three days and was so knowledgeable and helpful. The restaurant is top class, such imaginative dishes beautifully presented. The deal is all inclusive, so drinks in the room and round the pool are free issue, a lovely surprise. If only there was a rating higher than Excellent.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace House & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Thank you so much for sharing this review and truly wonderful feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and Beauty and Tau really appreciate the special mention. Breakfast and drinks from the minibar in our comfortable suites are included in the daily rate indeed. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards on behalf of the entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020

After a long flight from the U.S. it was a joy to arrive at this beautiful small hotel. We were greeted warmly and shown immediately to our beautiful room.

The included breakfast was delicious.

We spent our first relaxing at the lovely pool. The hotel has an included shuttle service which ferried us to nearby shopping and dining.

It was a wonderful experience.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace House & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa. After a long flight from the US, spending a few nights with us is the perfect way to overcome jetlag and relax, before going on safari. Johannesburg has a lot to offer these days, from local culture and art to history and good food. We hope to welcome you back when you visit Joburg again.

Warmest regards from all of us at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews