We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Nearby Hotels
US$328
US$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$583
US$552
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$162
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Maslow(Sandton)
US$175
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$206
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sandton(Sandton)
US$150
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$243
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
175
22
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
22
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsathol placemorukuru familyold treesmichelin star qualityheated bathroom floorsawesome nightamazing boutique hotelone nightcomplimentary mini baran evening drinkplace to stayhuge shoppingexceptional staffour honeymoonquiet oasisbottle of champagnebreakfast choices
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We spent one night here. The first impression wasn't great as our rooms were in a concrete block building with awkward steps up to them. However, there was a lovely pool and a small but sufficient gym and our rooms overlooking the pool were spacious and well decorated and had both a soaking tub and separate shower and terrace which are always nice. However, make sure you have proper amounts for gratuities. I tried to get smaller bills in the currency I had gotten at the airport ATM and was told that they have no cash on the property- I guess for safety- which explains why you can add tips to your bill and pay by credit card which I have not seen outside South Africa.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank AnAnthropologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa. We are glad to read that after the initial impressions you liked your spacious Deluxe Suite with balcony and view of the pool and garden. Our four Deluxe Suites are indeed situated in a separate building facing the garden, just a few meters from the main house. In South Africa it is quite common to be able to add gratuities/tips to the overall bill and pay by credit card, we are trying to make things as easy as possible.

The entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa looks forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,
Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this charming boutique hotel for one night but the place is amazing . As u enter the beautiful the hotel the smile of reception welcoming us with ice tea . The decoration so elegant . In the bedroom welcoming us with fresh baked donut . The staff are friendly and helpful . The restaurant is very good must try the carrot soup. The breakfast choice is good . And they beautiful garden to relax after long flu by the pool . Thank you Atholplace .

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Hana317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Jana317,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and thank you even more for the very kind words. We are pleased to read that you liked our warm welcome and the service we provided. Thank you for also joining us for a meal at AtholPlace Restaurant and yes, I do agree with you.... that carrot soup is delicious! We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Warmest regards on behalf of the entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa,
Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I heard many good reviews on this hotel and now wanted to see for myself. Atholplace is situated in a quiet neighbourhood in Johannesburg, not too far from Melrose Arch. There is a private parking space where we are welcomed. The garden is lush and features some wonderful modern art. Our room (nr. 10) was on the first floor, overlooking the garden and the swimming pool where a few model-like girls did have the time of their life. We did have the time of our life enjoying the welcome bubbly and donuts (home baked).
The bar is welcoming and the lounge area wants you to linger longer with your drinks and snacks. Diner… diner was so tasty and good. Our European stomachs are not always up to the amounts of food South Africans present. This was just right, from the starter to the desert.
I can only say oh and ah about the interior design and the classy but friendly ambiance. Beds slept comfortable and breakfast was as expected a treat. This is a true 5star place to cherish and come back to.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjolein W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear Marjolein W

First of all thank you so much for taking the time to share this absolutely wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read your comments and we are glad that you liked your suite, the design of the hotel and the food at AtholPlace Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Johannesburg!

Warmest regards on behalf of the whole team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa,
Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

AtholPlace Hotel & Villa - the best Boutique Hotel in South Africa and the best Restaurant in Johannesburg .. we went with high expectations, and they were all met, or exceded.

We were nervous about coming here with two toddlers (2&4) but they are amazing with children and the kids absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaniaTSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear ChaniaTSC,

On behalf of the entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa I would like to thank you so much fr taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very happy to read that we managed to exceed your expectations. And yes, we do welcome families with children of all ages, being part of Morukuru Family. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back any time!

Warmest regards from all of us,
Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We needed somewhere secure for women travelling alone with easy access to Sandton for business meetings. Our travel agent picked this hotel and we were blown away by the standard of the accommodation - looks like something straight out of an interiors magazine. Every single item from the light fittings to the milk jugs has been carefully selected and curated to contribute to the overall feel of restrained good taste and exceptional comfort. Little things like a small bottle of real milk in the fridge for tea, a Nespresso machine, large bottles of handwash, good internet, a powerful hairdryer with a lead long enough to reach the mirror (hoorray!) and huge soft towels made it a really comfortable stay. The food was equally good, although it would have been nice to have a room service menu with some very simple choices on it when you can't quite face another gourmet meal in exquisite surroundings and would quite like a cheese sandwich in bed instead.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WilliamsFamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Dear WilliamsFamilyUK,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review about your recent stay at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa!! The entire team is incredibly happy with your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Johannesburg again. By that time we will also be able to offer you a limited room service menu.

Warmest regards from all of us at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa,
Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews