We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasure ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AtholPlace Hotel & Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
“Pleasure ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this charming boutique hotel for one night but the place is amazing . As u enter the beautiful the hotel the smile of reception welcoming us with ice tea . The decoration so elegant . In the bedroom welcoming us with fresh baked donut . The staff are friendly and helpful . The restaurant is very good must try the carrot soup. The breakfast choice is good . And they beautiful garden to relax after long flu by the pool . Thank you Atholplace .

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Hana317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this review, 21 December 2016
Dear Jana317,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and thank you even more for the very kind words. We are pleased to read that you liked our warm welcome and the service we provided. Thank you for also joining us for a meal at AtholPlace Restaurant and yes, I do agree with you.... that carrot soup is delicious! We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Warmest regards on behalf of the entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa,
Rinse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
62
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

I heard many good reviews on this hotel and now wanted to see for myself. Atholplace is situated in a quiet neighbourhood in Johannesburg, not too far from Melrose Arch. There is a private parking space where we are welcomed. The garden is lush and features some wonderful modern art. Our room (nr. 10) was on the first floor, overlooking the garden and the swimming pool where a few model-like girls did have the time of their life. We did have the time of our life enjoying the welcome bubbly and donuts (home baked).
The bar is welcoming and the lounge area wants you to linger longer with your drinks and snacks. Diner… diner was so tasty and good. Our European stomachs are not always up to the amounts of food South Africans present. This was just right, from the starter to the desert.
I can only say oh and ah about the interior design and the classy but friendly ambiance. Beds slept comfortable and breakfast was as expected a treat. This is a true 5star place to cherish and come back to.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjolein W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this review, 20 December 2016
Dear Marjolein W

First of all thank you so much for taking the time to share this absolutely wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read your comments and we are glad that you liked your suite, the design of the hotel and the food at AtholPlace Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Johannesburg!

Warmest regards on behalf of the whole team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa,
Rinse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakuru, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

AtholPlace Hotel & Villa - the best Boutique Hotel in South Africa and the best Restaurant in Johannesburg .. we went with high expectations, and they were all met, or exceded.

We were nervous about coming here with two toddlers (2&4) but they are amazing with children and the kids absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaniaTSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Dear ChaniaTSC,

On behalf of the entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa I would like to thank you so much fr taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very happy to read that we managed to exceed your expectations. And yes, we do welcome families with children of all ages, being part of Morukuru Family. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back any time!

Warmest regards from all of us,
Rinse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016

We needed somewhere secure for women travelling alone with easy access to Sandton for business meetings. Our travel agent picked this hotel and we were blown away by the standard of the accommodation - looks like something straight out of an interiors magazine. Every single item from the light fittings to the milk jugs has been carefully selected and curated to contribute to the overall feel of restrained good taste and exceptional comfort. Little things like a small bottle of real milk in the fridge for tea, a Nespresso machine, large bottles of handwash, good internet, a powerful hairdryer with a lead long enough to reach the mirror (hoorray!) and huge soft towels made it a really comfortable stay. The food was equally good, although it would have been nice to have a room service menu with some very simple choices on it when you can't quite face another gourmet meal in exquisite surroundings and would quite like a cheese sandwich in bed instead.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamsFamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this review, 5 December 2016
Dear WilliamsFamilyUK,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review about your recent stay at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa!! The entire team is incredibly happy with your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Johannesburg again. By that time we will also be able to offer you a limited room service menu.

Warmest regards from all of us at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa,
Rinse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malelane, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016

Our stay at Athol Place was truly an awesome experience. The hotel itself is really beautiful, the staff are friendly and exceptionally trained and the food is unbelievably good - the perfect place for a marriage proposal!! So intimate and special.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank larasG1327RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this review, 24 November 2016
Dear larasG1327RO,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community! We are very happy to read your comments and the staff is exceptionally happy to read this as well. We wish you both the very best and perhaps you can come back for your honeymoon? We look forward to welcoming you!

Warmest regards on behalf of the team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa,
Rinse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandton
1.0 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
2.8 km away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
1.3 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.2 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AtholPlace Hotel & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AtholPlace Hotel & Villa

Property: AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Address: 90 Pretoria Avenue | Atholl, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Price range (per night): R3 841 - R21 043
Hotel Class:5 star — AtholPlace Hotel & Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa is a small luxury boutique hotel located in the cosmopolitan northern suburb of Atholl in Johannesburg. Contemporary-classic glamour and understated elegance meet at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, from our comfortably furnished library with built-in fireplace to the heated swimming pool in our beautiful garden. AtholPlace Hotel offers five superior suites and four deluxe suites. All nine suites have been individually designed, providing a sanctuary of comfort and tranquillity. The large suites, all with en-suite bathrooms, are extremely spacious, ranging from 45-55 square metres. The Deluxe Suites offer interleading doors to the Deluxe Suite next door, making them ideal for families travelling with children. Each suite includes: * En-suite bathroom with bath, shower and double vanity. * Underfloor heating in all bathrooms. * Air conditioning; 42-inch LCD flat-screen television set with DSTV. * complimentary wireless ADSL internet and telephone. * Electronic safe that can house a laptop. * Writing desk and lounge chairs and sofa. * Minibar fridge. * Luggage rack, hairdryer, and luxurious linen bathrobes and slippers. * 24-hour security. Guests have a choice of twin beds (in two of the superior suites and two of the deluxe suites) or extra-length king-size beds. One of our style signatures is our beds made up in crisp white percale Frette bed linen imported from Italy. Luxurious duck-down duvets and soft, silky cushions contribute to the experience of absolute comfort and luxury. Each suite has large doors opening out onto a private balcony. For the ultimate in privacy and exclusivity book the 4-bedroom AtholPlace Villa, with private garden and a heated pool. This villa is ideal for families or groups of friends travelling together (max. 6 adults plus 2 children). AtholPlace Villa comes with its own staff, including your own private chef and butler, who will prepare all your meals and drinks, which are included at AtholPlace Villa. All meals are expertly prepared by our in-house chef. Scrumptious breakfasts, light lunches and delicious dinners are served in the elegant AtholPlace Restaurant with its adjoining lounge. In addition, guests have the option of dining outside on the covered terrace or under the trees in the tranquil seclusion of our landscaped garden. Room service is also available at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa. AtholPlace Hotel & Villa is committed to ensuring the comfort of each guest visiting our hotel, providing you with refreshingly personal service and attention to detail. We offer you an unforgettable leisure experience in Johannesburg's cosmopolitan heart. AtholPlace Hotel & Villa is situated only 30 minutes from OR Tambo International Airport. Within close proximity to AtholPlace Hotel & Villa is Sandton Central, which offers world-class shopping and an abundance of restaurants with something to suit everyone's needs. The Sandton Station of the Gautrain Metro is less than a kilometre from the hotel, and has a direct link to and from OR Tambo International Airport. Airport transfers are also available directly from AtholPlace Hotel & Villa. Smoking inside is not permitted and no pets are allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your AtholPlace Hotel & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing