We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AtholPlace Hotel & Villa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
173
22
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
22
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsathol placemorukuru familyold treesmichelin star qualityheated bathroom floorsawesome nightamazing boutique hotelone nightcomplimentary mini baran evening drinkplace to stayhuge shoppingexceptional staffour honeymoonquiet oasisbottle of champagnebreakfast choices
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I heard many good reviews on this hotel and now wanted to see for myself. Atholplace is situated in a quiet neighbourhood in Johannesburg, not too far from Melrose Arch. There is a private parking space where we are welcomed. The garden is lush and features some wonderful modern art. Our room (nr. 10) was on the first floor, overlooking the garden and the swimming pool where a few model-like girls did have the time of their life. We did have the time of our life enjoying the welcome bubbly and donuts (home baked).
The bar is welcoming and the lounge area wants you to linger longer with your drinks and snacks. Diner… diner was so tasty and good. Our European stomachs are not always up to the amounts of food South Africans present. This was just right, from the starter to the desert.
I can only say oh and ah about the interior design and the classy but friendly ambiance. Beds slept comfortable and breakfast was as expected a treat. This is a true 5star place to cherish and come back to.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjolein W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear Marjolein W

First of all thank you so much for taking the time to share this absolutely wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read your comments and we are glad that you liked your suite, the design of the hotel and the food at AtholPlace Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Johannesburg!

Warmest regards on behalf of the whole team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa,
Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

AtholPlace Hotel & Villa - the best Boutique Hotel in South Africa and the best Restaurant in Johannesburg .. we went with high expectations, and they were all met, or exceded.

We were nervous about coming here with two toddlers (2&4) but they are amazing with children and the kids absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaniaTSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Dear ChaniaTSC,

On behalf of the entire team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa I would like to thank you so much fr taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very happy to read that we managed to exceed your expectations. And yes, we do welcome families with children of all ages, being part of Morukuru Family. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back any time!

Warmest regards from all of us,
Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We needed somewhere secure for women travelling alone with easy access to Sandton for business meetings. Our travel agent picked this hotel and we were blown away by the standard of the accommodation - looks like something straight out of an interiors magazine. Every single item from the light fittings to the milk jugs has been carefully selected and curated to contribute to the overall feel of restrained good taste and exceptional comfort. Little things like a small bottle of real milk in the fridge for tea, a Nespresso machine, large bottles of handwash, good internet, a powerful hairdryer with a lead long enough to reach the mirror (hoorray!) and huge soft towels made it a really comfortable stay. The food was equally good, although it would have been nice to have a room service menu with some very simple choices on it when you can't quite face another gourmet meal in exquisite surroundings and would quite like a cheese sandwich in bed instead.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WilliamsFamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Dear WilliamsFamilyUK,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review about your recent stay at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa!! The entire team is incredibly happy with your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Johannesburg again. By that time we will also be able to offer you a limited room service menu.

Warmest regards from all of us at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa,
Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Our stay at Athol Place was truly an awesome experience. The hotel itself is really beautiful, the staff are friendly and exceptionally trained and the food is unbelievably good - the perfect place for a marriage proposal!! So intimate and special.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank larasG1327RO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Dear larasG1327RO,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community! We are very happy to read your comments and the staff is exceptionally happy to read this as well. We wish you both the very best and perhaps you can come back for your honeymoon? We look forward to welcoming you!

Warmest regards on behalf of the team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa,
Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

What a shame to have only one night here! Everything about the place is designed to make you feel special: a lovely room, excellent food, wonderful art work, superb service and the only thing that prevented us from enjoying the pool and its environs was a massive hailstorm!

We will definitely put this stay as a highlight of our four week trip in South Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinse W, Guest Relations Manager at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Dear clival,

On behalf of the whole team at AtholPlace Hotel & Villa we would like to thank you so much for this wonderful review about your recent stay with us. We are glad to read your comments and we are happy that you enjoyed the room, the food, the artwork and the service our team provides. Such a shame that the weather did not play along nicely. We are thrilled to read that your stay with us was a highlight of your four week trip in South Africa. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards from all of us,
Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews