We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 2 265
Fully refundable before Fri, 03 May
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
R 2 032
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
366
219
43
22
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
366
219
43
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business hotel rooms are spacious sandton area mall gym jhb
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2024

We went back to this hotel 10 years after our first stay. Still feels like home. We really enjoyed our stay. Except for the breakfast which was not as furnished or good as in the past. Everything was perfect.
The mall next door is a plus even though it doesn't have a lot of brands represented.
We highly recommend it anyway.

Room tip: Try The Parc restaurant in the mall, really nice place
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MTL51446
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Prissi Naidoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Dear MTL 51446

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel, I am glad that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards
Prissi Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2024

Visited this little gem for lunch on my first day in South Africa from the UK.
I believe the gentleman who served us was named 'Siphiwe' - he provided tremendous service, was very attentive and kindly turned up the heating for us. Huge asset to the company.
Food was very tasty.
After lunch, we were free to enjoy the outdoor pool area and also the lounge area while enjoying a warm beverage.
Due to the restaurant being on one of the highest floors, the views were 👌🏾

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Connector792510
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Prissi Naidoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Dear Connector792510

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel, I am glad that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards
Prissi Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023

The hotel is well located and the rooftop bar is great, with an amazing selection of whisky. That being said, the hotel does feel a little dated. Staff are attentive and friendly, rooms adequate but well cleaned. Had an issue with US power adapters. Decent stay and good value for money, certainly a four star at best.

Room tip: You can park in the hotel parking without a key card just press the help button on the machine and they will let you in
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank seanrC2289LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Prissi Naidoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Dear Mr Sean

Thank you so much for taking time to review the hotel. I am glad you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Kindly note there are plans for a refurbishment in the near future and US adaptor are available on request at reception.

I wish to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Prissi Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2023

We were here for two nights while on a tour. Food was excellent and we enjoyed eating one night at the bar while watching a game. The rooms are large, clean and cozy. The hotel is attached to a mall so we could go there and shop, have lunch and catch a movie without worrying about going out and maybe being in danger. we were told to be careful because this is a dangerous city.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wyndipotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Prissi Naidoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2023

Dear Ms Gwynster

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I am glad you have had an enjoyable stay with us,
I wish to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Prissi Naidoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2023

I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago with nine of my friends we travelled from the States. Our first time in South Africa. Friendly staff, the front desk attendants greet you with a warm smile. Very efficient check-in process. We had modern, nice clean and spacious rooms.
Great ambience at the hotel, real nice vibe, good energy to be around. I looked forward to the breakfast spread, you really get your money’s worth.

Will definitely return, great location, the mall is right next to the hotel.

Room tip: Great place to stay, everyone is so friendly.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Prissi Naidoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2023

Dear X420TEsandrac

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I am glad that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warm regards
Prissi Naidoo



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews