We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay property ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

A definite improvement on the Radisson Gautrain up the road. That one feels like a motel, this one a hotel.

The hotel is modern, clean and the rooms are your standard business hotel fare.

That’s said, like most Radisson’s, it lacks character. One restaurant. One bar, and you have to pay for parking.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear Michael S

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotels modern look.

I will make sure to pass your message of compliments and concerns onto the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Volkan Vural
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1 245 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

The views from the restaurant are amazing -- its all the way up in the 13th floor. The service is just okay. The atmosphere is very elegant, great look and feel. Food presentation is on point as well. The prices are more on the higher end, so have a good budget for this one.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nduvho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Nduvho M,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the views from Vivace Restaurant - they are indeed special.

I will make sure to pass your message of compliments and concerns onto the entire team here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Volkan Vural
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on New Year's eve 2018 to celebrate the occasion. We have done the same in many hotels all over the world. This was the worst experience I ever had. The service both on the pool deck as well as over dinner in the main restaurant was a disaster. People were simply not qualified to interact with customers. On top of this lousy service there were not enough people to serve the guests. The dinner was a disaster as well. I would only send my worst enemy to have lamb at this restaurant. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vonekesparre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear vonekesparre,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton as your hotel of choice.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.

We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind Regards
Volkan Vural
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We spent one night there before our flight back to Europe. We were 3 (couple + kid) and booked a suite, which was well appointed. We also asked for late check out which worked well for no charge. Really the drawback of this hotel is the restaurant. We had Dinner, and then a lunch at the pool the day after. On both time, extremely long waits (45 min to 1h, for an empty restaurant), got the wrong orders, and the food was not tasty at all. This place has a problem with their restaurant and the associated service.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ver0nique2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Ver0nique2013,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton as your hotel of choice. I am glad to hear we were able to assist you with a late check out and that you found the suite to your standard.

We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service. I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.

We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind Regards
Volkan Vural
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Booked a number(5) of rooms for NYE to bring in 2018. On arrival we were told to put a deposit to open our credit to charge to room which was done but on the restaurant bill this was not reflected. A late lunch at Vivace was average, the rib eye at 285 was overcooked at first attempt and redone under on next. Pork belly had no crackling and was close to burnt as well as the chicken schnitzel. Overpriced average food. Rooms were clean but shower was a hand shower hostered up! Down pillows were uncomfortable. The actual pool party was which was booked and paid for in advance was not set up for us. Drinks were locked up, no lighting on corner seating area for an area of 18 people. Not enough mixers on drinks, misadvertised party of note! In addition as guests of hotel we were charged entrance to the party when others guests were free. Pricing on drinks very high. Breakfast back at the restaurant was slow, one person on eggs taking 10-15 wait. Replacement of finished buffet items had to be requested. Plates being cleared without asking. Lack of management throughout the stay was evident. All in all for what is advertised as 5 stars is no way close.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sesh_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Seshnı C,

Thank you very much for selecting the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton as your hotel of choice.

The inconvenience which you experienced throughout your stay is most definitely not the standard we strive to achieve. Please be assured that your comments have been addressed in detail with the relevant management and staff.

I can assure you, should you stay at Radisson Blu Sandton again, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality. We look most forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Volkan Vural
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0,3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#14 of 47 in Sandton
1 430 reviews
0,5 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0,6 km away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#12 of 47 in Sandton
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,9 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0,3 km away
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0,7 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1 013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg

Address: Corner Rivonia Road & Daisy Street | Johannesburg, Sandton 2010, South Africa (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Sandton
Price Range: R 1 482 - R 2 640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing