We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food below average, staff intimidating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we booked in 2 women in our group were threatened by an employee demanding a bigger tip for porterage although I had paid for the porterage. The Saturday evening was devoid of any meat (chicken is not meat). Breakfast was good but slow due to inadequate serving places. The buses have to park outside in Rivonia road, I can just imagine what happens when it rains.

Room Tip: Away from road and adjacent construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kdgarlipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nik6311, Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear kdgarlipp

I trust my response finds you well.

Thank you for providing us with the feedback on your most recent stay with us, this is truly appreciated.
I understand your frustration regarding the tip soliciting - this is , I agree, totally unacceptable. Hotel strongly condemn this type of behaviour and , if possible, I would kindly ask for further information on this incident in order to investigate further. Please contact me on nikola.jelenovic@hisandton.co.za.
Your comments regarding our Food and beverage offering have been noted, please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused.
Whilst we did not entirely meet your expectations on this occasion I sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to restore your confidence in our service.
Best Regards
Nikola Jelenovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Impressed by the service I received on entering the equally impressive hotel foyer. Stunning pool deck and Skye bar on top floor of this hotel, with great views over Sandton and surrounding suburbs.Will definitely be back in December with my family for a short stop over on my way to the Pilansburg.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank justrod2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nik6311, Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Justrod2017

Thank you for the fantastic feedback on your most recent stay with us, this is truly appreciated. Team is delighted with your comments.
Let me know when back in December, would like to meet you and thank you in person for the great review.
Best Regards

Nikola Jelenovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I checked in to the hotel today. I am a IHG Rewards club Gold Elite member. IHG makes a great deal of the membership benefits which it advertises. I was not at all acknowledged as a member, leave aside any priority check in. OK, I agree the receptionist can forget at times. So I asked her if my membership number is registered with the reservation. She checked and said "Yes". That's it. No acknowledgement or explanation of any benefits It was very demeaning especially because I had heard her telling the guest who checked in before me about the complimentary lounge access for IHG members.
On reaching the room, I once again called her and asked her if I can expect any benefits as a Gold member. First benefit she mentioned is that I am provided a clean room. (I checked in at 10 pm in the night). Can you imagine that!!! In the end she did mention that I can visit the lounge as a compliment.
Very disappointed with this ill treatment being a Gold Elite member and choosing IHG as a preferred stay for my travel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank StopNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nik6311, Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest

I trust this finds you well and that you have returned home safely from your visit to Johannesburg.
Thank you for the feedback provided, indeed disappointing check in experience. Please be assured that we fully value your loyalty and your Gold Elite status. I have dealt with your feedback internally in n appropriate manner.
Further, I have responded to you via E mail.
Once again, please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused with my assurance that this will not happen again.

Best Regards
Nikola Jelenovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a platinum member i expect more, as a guest I expect more.
No advice on the lounge at checkin, had to ask, skye bar closed on sundays and Monday's but not detailed on website
Menus on website not up to date
Skye bar closed for function so third night without
Restaurant only serves buffet " due to high occupancy" so not much choice apart from bat food or as offered " you can have room service"
Lounge offers two free drinks and any more na kore expensive that at the (small) bar.

Over all very disappointed, will stay at the Hilton next visit

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Neilskates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nik6311, Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Neilskates

Greeting form Johannesburg!
Thank you for your feedback, truly appreciated.

Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused, looks like a number of things went wrong here. I have also sent you a mail with more detail.

Whilst we did not entirely meet your expectations on this occasion, I sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to restore your confidence in our service.

Best Regards
Nikola Jelenovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There is a big construction site just next the hotel, they are working till late at night. so if you want to rest and sleep, avoid this hotel. They shouldn even sell the rooms facing the construction site.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank General_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear General_traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We regret to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience due to the inconvenience caused by the construction noise during visit. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to all concerned departments for evaluation. In addition, we have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.8 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 46 in Sandton
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: R1 415 - R2 157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing