We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Johannesburg/ Sandton!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This was my second trip to South Africa and the Johannesburg/ Sandton Area. Work had brought me to South Africa the first time and I chose the Holiday Inn at random, but looking back, I would not have wanted to stay at any other hotel. I was overjoyed when I had the possibility to stay there again.

I would go back to the Holiday Inn Sandton for the people and the food. The fresh papaya and passion fruit for breakfast are out of this world, and the staff, both in the hotel and the restaurant, felt like family. The proximity to the Mandela Square shopping center is perfect for tourists and the hourly shuttle from the hotel is very convenient. The Gautrain station being only a few walking minutes away made working on projects in Johannesburg and Pretoria fairly easy. The wifi was very reliable and so was the front desk staff in terms of recommendations for tours and safaris.

On the first night I highly recommend trying the ostrich carpaccio (please see the picture) along with an ice cold Castle Lager. However, the rest of the menu is worth trying at least once.

A big thank you to the entire staff: Nikola, Precious, Bafana and Thandi at the front desk, Lyford and Victor in the restaurant among all the others!

I look forward to my next trip to South Africa and my stay in Sandton!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudu Z, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day Eric T,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on to the team and those mentioned.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
Dudu Zondo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

The Holiday Inn on Rivonia Road is a well appointed, convenient hotel ideal for the professional or business traveler who wants to be centrally located to do work or business, and who wants to have an upscale hotel suitable to meeting colleagues and for doing work in the room. The hotel is in the thick of things in Sandton and it is adjacent to a small mall that contains a supermarket, several good restaurants, shops and boutiques, and some fast food take-out places. In honesty, this is such a lovely, nicely decorated hotel, you might not realise it is a Holiday Inn (that is what some of my colleagues said when they came to meet me there). The restaurant is excellent, the room service is high quality, the rooms are professionally decorated in neutral tones (and not too showy), there is a business center with places to work, and one can work comfortably at a desk in the room, with online access. If you have a rental car you can easily park it in the hotel's underground parking garage, rather than risk it outside or on the street. The staff are very helpful and friendly. You will see other business travelers there, sometimes families, and airline crews. There is a modest but nice rooftop pool and bar too. You could choose to stay at one of the higher profile glitzy hotels in Sandton City, but if you do, you will miss this quietly elegant option. As someone who has traveled back to Johannesburg for many years, for work, and who grew up in the city, I can vouch for this hotel as a very nice find. Give it a look.

Room Tip: In winter (July and August) request a room on the north (sunny) side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dianelorraineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Comfortable beds, nice space and a very spacious shower. Was like heaven coming here after sharing a bathroom with 22other people for 3weeks. Food is good, very large breakfast. Staff looks after you and are very nice.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Enaldia199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudu Z, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good day Enaldia199,
Thank you for your lovely post, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you travel to Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Dudu Zondo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I've spent a full week at Holiday Inn Sandton for business purpose. The location is great, close to Gautrain station and Mandela square (free shuttle every hour).
Room was clean and a desk was included (great when you have to work). WiFi was good.
The hotel offers also a good breakfast and the restaurant menu can be trusted.
Staff was smiling, polite and supportive.
Only the booking system was a little bit poor for this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laurentre13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Good day laurentre13,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been passed onto the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
Dudu Zondo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed one night on business. The hotel is attractive, staff are efficient and offers the bed and pillows good sleep quality. Very large bathroom and a tub big enough for two. Unfortunately at the moment there is construction next door, so if you have any intentions of sleeping in, then perhaps choose a different hotel for now. The noise starts shortly after 7 however as I was already up for my work day, it didn't affect me to much. The breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank NauticalVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Good day NauticalVoyager,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value and appreciate all feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the noise from the construction side, We always endeavour for favourable room allocation, but this is not always the case

I hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
Dudu Zondo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 46 in Sandton
1 372 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.6 km away
Signature Lux Hotels
Signature Lux Hotels
#28 of 46 in Sandton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: R1 450 - R2 155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing