We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
202
291
159
52
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
291
159
52
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar skye bar nelson mandela square top floor rivonia road nice hotel hourly shuttle room service gautrain station small gym business center sandton city restaurant staff business trip long flight shuttle service shopping mall
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The Holiday Inn on Rivonia Road is a well appointed, convenient hotel ideal for the professional or business traveler who wants to be centrally located to do work or business, and who wants to have an upscale hotel suitable to meeting colleagues and for doing work in the room. The hotel is in the thick of things in Sandton and it is adjacent to a small mall that contains a supermarket, several good restaurants, shops and boutiques, and some fast food take-out places. In honesty, this is such a lovely, nicely decorated hotel, you might not realise it is a Holiday Inn (that is what some of my colleagues said when they came to meet me there). The restaurant is excellent, the room service is high quality, the rooms are professionally decorated in neutral tones (and not too showy), there is a business center with places to work, and one can work comfortably at a desk in the room, with online access. If you have a rental car you can easily park it in the hotel's underground parking garage, rather than risk it outside or on the street. The staff are very helpful and friendly. You will see other business travelers there, sometimes families, and airline crews. There is a modest but nice rooftop pool and bar too. You could choose to stay at one of the higher profile glitzy hotels in Sandton City, but if you do, you will miss this quietly elegant option. As someone who has traveled back to Johannesburg for many years, for work, and who grew up in the city, I can vouch for this hotel as a very nice find. Give it a look.

Room Tip: In winter (July and August) request a room on the north (sunny) side of the building.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dianelorraineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Many thanks for your review and taking the time to share, we are updating our pages and information hence the response. We are also exciting with regards to the development next door to us now finally opening - The Marc on Rivonia, this will be a great added facility for the hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Comfortable beds, nice space and a very spacious shower. Was like heaven coming here after sharing a bathroom with 22other people for 3weeks. Food is good, very large breakfast. Staff looks after you and are very nice.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Enaldia199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudu Z, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Good day Enaldia199,
Thank you for your lovely post, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you travel to Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Dudu Zondo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I've spent a full week at Holiday Inn Sandton for business purpose. The location is great, close to Gautrain station and Mandela square (free shuttle every hour).
Room was clean and a desk was included (great when you have to work). WiFi was good.
The hotel offers also a good breakfast and the restaurant menu can be trusted.
Staff was smiling, polite and supportive.
Only the booking system was a little bit poor for this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laurentre13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Good day laurentre13,
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments have been passed onto the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
Dudu Zondo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed one night on business. The hotel is attractive, staff are efficient and offers the bed and pillows good sleep quality. Very large bathroom and a tub big enough for two. Unfortunately at the moment there is construction next door, so if you have any intentions of sleeping in, then perhaps choose a different hotel for now. The noise starts shortly after 7 however as I was already up for my work day, it didn't affect me to much. The breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank NauticalVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Good day NauticalVoyager,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value and appreciate all feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the noise from the construction side, We always endeavour for favourable room allocation, but this is not always the case

I hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
Dudu Zondo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights..the hotel is modern and very clean..breakfast is ok it might need some improvement.. they have a very good coffee.
You get around to Mandela square walking for lesd than 10 min or use the hotel free shuttle that will drop you also at the train station where you can get to the airport too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sami-bel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudu Z, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Good day Sami-bel2011
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us. We value and appreciate all feedback and your comments have been noted and will be looked into.

I hope you will afford us the oppoortunity to welcome you back to see the changes and improvements made with our breakfast

Kind regards
Dudu Zodndo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews