We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fine”

The Bull Run Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 229 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I had to try the Bull Run Burger while staying here and found the experience average. The burger itself was really good , as good as I've had in a specialist burger bar. Unfortunately both the burger and the chips that came with it were luke warm with the bun base soggy.
The atmosphere in the restaurant was good but quite noisy considering it was only half full. The waiters seemed to be working hard and keeping on top of everything and quite attentive. Mid priced establishment that I would try again if in the area but would complain about the temperature !!!

Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear 'ross m'

Thank you for taking your time to review our restaurant. Did you raise any of your concerns with our management team? Please feel free to contact Christina under info@thebullrun.co.za for any questions and we hope to see you back a second time.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for The Bull Run Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

I will Keep this short and sweet.

My second visit this month. I have tried a few but when it comes to steak this place should be number one and simply does not disappoint. A call out to Warren who did a fantastic and attentive job.

T Bone steak medium rare - better than ok Good

Rib Eye steak 550 g - medium rare - marvellous.

Fat B*** 2013 Pinotage - marvellous also.

Overall great night and really good food. These guys are better the Butchers Shop by far.

Thank Traveler1234562015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear 'Traveler1234562015'

Wow, how amazing to read that you had such a great experience with us. Your praise especially about Warren in particular, is greatly appreciated. Please know that we have congratulated him for doing a great job. We look forward in spoiling you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

You just cannot go wrong with a visit to the Bull Run. The steak is to die for and sides are just must haves. Service is amazing and very professional. Try the ribeye on the bone!

Thank swazijumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear 'swasijumbo'

How wonderful to read that you enjoyed your evening with us so much! It is always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoyed our meat so much and that the service was amazing. Thank you!

We hope to spoil you soon again.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

I've been to this restaurant before on other trips to South Africa. The standard seems to have dropped, most notably in the variety of selection on the menu (I was looking at fish and shellfish that evening). Wines OK, service OK, price OK, but nothing particularly special.

Thank KADPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear 'KADPER'

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on 'tripadvisor'. It is regrettable to read that you were not completely satisfied with your evening with us.
Did you raise any of your concerns with our management on duty that evening?
Please feel free to contact Christina or Thobile under info@thebullrun.co.za for any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

I got there as it is associated with the hotel i were in. The menu is large and the plates are correctly served. Be very precise on the meat cooking level you need knowing that blue for them is already rare or medium rare for French! Avoid the terrasse near by the street.

Thank Behaeghel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear 'Behaeghel'

Your comment on TripAdvisor refers. How wonderful that you enjoyed your meal with us. We have many foreign guests eating at our restaurant, so it is definitely advisable to speak to your waiter how you want your steak cooked to perfection.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull Run Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bull Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing