We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meat”

The Bull Run Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 487 Restaurants in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy some of the best steaks in Johannesburg, peruse the extensive wine list or sip a signature cocktail in the centre of the city’s financial district.
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Well situated in Sandton this place serves incredibly excellent meat. We ate at the terrace and had a very nice time. The staff is friendly and service very good. Prices are very low. I paid for three people what I pay for 1 in Dubai; 1 dish each and 2 beers each. But I was told South-Africa is far from expensive when it comes down to food.

Thank AlexisDeVliegher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear 'AlexisDeViegher'

Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We were delighted to read that you had such an awesome time with us and that you enjoyed your meal so much. We look forward in spoiling you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Took dinner here on first night in Joburg after a flight from London. The restaurant provided an excellent welcome to South Africa. Tender steak and excellent wine. Would happily stay again if the opportunity was presented.

Thank Eduardobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Dear 'Eduardobear'

Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘TripAdvisor’. We are delighted to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.
We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

the menu has a wide range and the food was fantastic, attention to detail, like a home away from home

Thank TapiwaZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Dear 'Tapiwa Z'

Wow, it is wonderful to read your positive feedback! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We look forward in spoiling you again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Great atmosphere and friendly service! Food was tasty and well presented. It was all the little extras to cater to our needs that made this an exceptional experience!

Thank Ria8653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Dear 'Ria8653'
It is super to read that you had such an enjoyable dining experience. We look forward in spoiling you and your friends again soon.


Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I visited this restaurant a few times during my stay at Balalaika Hotel and must say that everytime the food was good, as well as the service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gosia_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jörg Z, General Manager at The Bull Run Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Dear 'Gosia_Ma'

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. This is very much appreciated and we look forward in welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher & TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull Run Restaurant also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Bull Run Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing