We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Protea Hotels
US$74
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$73
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/20
US$73
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
Expedia.comUS$73
Booking.comUS$73
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
22
32
23
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
22
32
23
12
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020

My flight from Durban to Johannesburg was exhausting in a late afternoon for a business seminar in the following morning.
How refreshing to be welcomed by Lerato at Protea Hotel, the check-in was lovely, refreshingly clean and relaxing room, not to mention an appetising buffet dinner with soft classical music.
Staff were so polite, friendly and professional throughout.
I will choose this again in my next visit to Roodepoort.

Room tip: Have a late evening dinner on the patio overlooking the lake.
Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sifaniso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndriS584, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort by Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Dear Fanie N,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a good stay with us and that we managed to meet and exceed your expectations.

We pride ourselves in providing excellent hospitality and it is truly heartwarming to read your review.

We have shared your feedback with our hotel TEAM as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to provide the service you described.

We are eagerly looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Andri Joubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019

The noisiest hotel ever. Between the roof air conditioning that sounds like a industrial factory and the highway with windows that are not double glazed or even able to close properly I had to move rooms at 1130pm. Never again.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Gmac9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndriS584, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort by Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Gmac9000,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are terribly sorry to hear that you did not have a seamless stay with us and that we did not exceed your expectations. This is not the level of service we pride ourselves in and we have shared your comments with the hotel STAFF as a critical way of understanding how we can improve going forward.

Sincerely,
Andri Joubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

The hotel was good with friendly and competent staff rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good but the best part is the grounds outside take time to go for a walk by the river and bird watching

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippy55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndriS584, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort by Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2019

Dear Skippy55_13,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a good stay with us.

We have shared your comments with the hotel TEAM as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver the service you described.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andri Joubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2019 via mobile

I recently visited this hotel for business. The service was great, and the hotel is located in a lovely environment.

I had a good experience. The only detractor was the bad shower experience. The shower is a hand device with low water pressure, so not a good experience at all.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JohanBezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndriS584, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort by Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Dear JohanBezz,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us. We truly value your comments and believe it to be the only true measuring tool when it comes to YOU our GUEST.

We have shared your feedback with the hotel TEAM as a critical way of understanding how we can continue and improve on our services.

We are eagerly looking forward to hosting you again when ever your travels brings you back to the West Rand.

Kind regards,
Andri Joubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

amazing staff at the front desk. super friendly and extremely helpful. clean room. clean bathroom. Hotel is situated in a good location. easy access to the highway. breakfast worth the stay and if you lave early do offer a breakfast take away pack.

Room tip: be specific about what you want
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joanneclairep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndriS584, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort by Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Dear joanneclairep,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback and a rating on your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us and that we managed to meet your expectations. Your comments and feedback has been shared with the hotel TEAM and we are excited to have you back with us whenever your travels bring you back to Roodepoort.

Kind regards,
Andri Joubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews