We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
R 3 655
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Kenyan traveller
Lavington, Kenya
The best boutique hotel experience so far.
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2023
This is one of my favourite boutique hotels so far. It is beautiful, the common areas are spacious and charming, the rooms are huge with everything you could need for a comfortable stay. The couple that owns the place were gracious and made my stay so much better (At one point, the owner dropped me off at work because the Ubers were acting funny). The staff were warm and delightful. Another highlight was definitely the food! I actually have cravings for it now that I'm home 😅
The gym is modest but I really only needed the rowing machine which was available.
I highly highly recommend the place.
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 780
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 640
R 616
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
8.4 km from The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 066
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Apartment Main Bedroom
Tripadvisor
R 1 778
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 778
  • eDreams
0.6 km from The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.9 km from The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 088
  • Algotels
0.6 km from The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.0 km from The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
11.3 km from The Syrene Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Rivonia
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
91
17
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
91
17
2
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2022 via mobile

I highly recommend staying at the Syrene Boutique Hotel. This is such a lovely and cosy safe place to stay. All the staff are so friendly and they really do go out of their way to be extra helpful when needed. The food is absolutely delicious. I looked forward to breakfast every morning. The rooms are large, very clean and comfortable with a powerful rainfall shower. You are within walking distance of shops and some nice restaurants. We were thoroughly looked after throughout our stay. Tony and Dani the owners were so lovely and helped us with all queries about the area. They arranged private transport for us as well. I have to say this hotel has to be one of my most favourite stays in all my travels. I will return for sure. 5 star review from me. Well done to the Syrene Team.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alimunxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Finney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2022

Thank you for your super review Alison. We truly appreciate it and we enjoyed having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2022

Absolute Gem of a place in the heart of Rivonia - we were spoilt beyond words and description! Personal service and attention to detail without being overbearing. The Elm Tree Restaurant is a must visit in and by itself!

Room tip: The Presidential Suite with an amazing spatial bathroom
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Finney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2022

Thank you Harry for your lovely review. We are so happy you had a wonderful anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2021

There are superb surroundings at this lovely establishment. Staff and facilities are fantastic. I would highly recommend The Syrene Hotel as guests will really feel welcome there. It has a small hotel environment, much better than faceless larger city hotels.

The food at The Elm Tree Restuarant, part of the Hotel, adds a real home from home atmosphere.
.

Room tip: Pool facing rooms recommended
Date of stay: November 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank X1486UBkenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Finney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2022

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely comment. We really appreciate it.. We are delighted that you enjoy your meals and time spent at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021

From a warm welcome to a cozy large bedroom we had a lovely stay. The staff makes you feel like family. Thank you dear Colin for serving the best breakfast, making it the most special one in a long time.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank landiv2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Finney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Hi Landi, thank you so much for the lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2021 via mobile

We had a birthday tea party for 15 people at the elm tree restaurant.It was raining so the function was indoors.
The tea stands were beautifully presented with creative, tasty and aesthetically pleasing sweet and savoury bites.
The service exceeded expectations, the staff were really helpful and friendly and assisted without being called.
Really happy that we chose to have the tea at the Syrene.
Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a tasteful, upmarket venue.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank WayneandMariK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daniella Finney, Owner at The Syrene Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2021

Thank you for your message Mari. We are delighted that you enjoyed your tea at The Elm Tree Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews