We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$54
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$54
View deal
Booking.comUS$54
Priceline
eDreamsUS$54
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
60
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
60
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home guest house went the extra mile renee hosts guesthouse sa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Bay Tree has become my favoured lodging in Pretoria, stretching back to my first visit in 2009. The safe and convenient location initially made this a compelling venue. However the friendly relaxed hospitality, personal touch, spacious and comfortable rooms and homely breakfasts, Renee and Fred have made this a home away from home for me and a 'must' on every visit to Pretoria. This year I have had the pleasure of eight two night stopovers at Bay Tree Lodge. In the midst of a busy schedule Bay Tree is one place I can relax and know things are well taken care of.
Ian R

Room tip: All rooms I have stayed in are double, en-suite and self catering, with A/C and TV, but the bath/shower configuration differs from room to room as does the table or desk arrangement for studying or working so it helps to ask explicitly if you have preferences in these areas.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

This guest house looks a little sketchy and weird if you have never stayed at a guest house. The first few days I felt a little uncomfortable but the safety was great. Renee helped us a lot and the breakfast was awesome. Its a very safe place to stay. I would strongly recommend you to stay here and have a great experiance just like we did. Amazing place... You cannot find anything better than this in Pretoria. Its just awesome.

Date of stay: August 2014
Thank Swara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you are looking for a home away from home do not look to far as you found it, Baytree Guesthouse will be your home the minute you arrive until you depart. Your host Rene and Fred will be be there to assist with any need nothing is to big or to small for them to assist. The rooms are very comfortable with the option to have self catering for longer stays. Baytree is also located very central, for example walking distance from the Brooklyn Mall or the famous Austin Roberts Bird Sanctuary. And it is en route to the Gautrain Bus Route. Not only is it central but also safe and secure. There is onsite parking facilities and the guesthouse are also child friendly.

Room tip: Room 7 or 3 in lovely.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yolageni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It was our first time in Pretoria, Bay tree was then recommended to us from the Embassy which is just 5 minutes away. We were welcomed by Renee, the owner herself and was very accommodating, she made sure that our stay would feel comfortable and secure and we did! Thank you Renee for giving us a great deal of having the family room. We would definitely recommend Bay Tree Guest House to our friends, It was indeed a "homie" feeling for having the hospitality of great people. We didn't get to try the pool because it's winter, maybe we could swim in the pool next visit when its summer.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Thank you to Rene and Fred for a wonderful stay at your guesthouse.
It is so nice to be welcomed by two friendly caring people.
My elderly mom stayed at Bay Tree guesthouse for five nights and was spoiled rotten by Rene. She was well taken care of and spoiled by extra attention. Thank you for a wonderful clean well organised guesthouse with very tasty breakfasts. Will definitely see you again.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isella397
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews