We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$54
View deal
Hotels.comUS$54
Booking.comUS$54
PricelineUS$54
CheapTicketsUS$54
eDreamsUS$54
TravelocityUS$54
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
60
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
60
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home guest house went the extra mile renee hosts guesthouse sa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It was our first time in Pretoria, Bay tree was then recommended to us from the Embassy which is just 5 minutes away. We were welcomed by Renee, the owner herself and was very accommodating, she made sure that our stay would feel comfortable and secure and we did! Thank you Renee for giving us a great deal of having the family room. We would definitely recommend Bay Tree Guest House to our friends, It was indeed a "homie" feeling for having the hospitality of great people. We didn't get to try the pool because it's winter, maybe we could swim in the pool next visit when its summer.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Thank you to Rene and Fred for a wonderful stay at your guesthouse.
It is so nice to be welcomed by two friendly caring people.
My elderly mom stayed at Bay Tree guesthouse for five nights and was spoiled rotten by Rene. She was well taken care of and spoiled by extra attention. Thank you for a wonderful clean well organised guesthouse with very tasty breakfasts. Will definitely see you again.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isella397
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 March 2014

During my relocation to Pretoria I stayed at the Bay Tree Guest House for about two months. Its location is great for University of Pretoria and many embassies surrounding it, Gautrain bus stop is just around the corner and it is walking distance to Brooklyn Mall. Anything beyond that you'll definitely need a car. It is relatively close to the centre and the mall and yet is very calm and quiet. Renne, the owner, and her husband are extremely helpful and will help you sort out anything. Highly recommended and my late review is in no way a reflection on the hospitality of Bay Tree. Aleks

Date of stay: July 2013
Thank Aardwark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Bay tree guest house is ideally situated. It is very close to the University of Pretoria where my daughter goes to. Renee was very helpful and we had a wonderful stay. The guest house is very close to every amenity (especially the beautiful malls). It is a lovely, clean and secure guest house. I would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 181Maria_ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was our second stay at this beautiful Guest House and once again we received a warm welcome from Renee and Fred to our " home away from home".
Bay Tree offers luxury and very comfortable suites (each with large private en-suite bathroom). The Guest House provides every amenity and convenience one may wish for including free wifi in guest rooms, air conditioning, mini kitchen with coffee. It is spotlessly clean and also nicely decorated.
The breakfast is delicious and freshly prepared daily and includes buffet (fresh fruits, yoghurt, cereals, home baked treats ) and a full hot breakfast made to order. Every day we experienced their warm hospitality and personal touch.
Bay tree is set in a spectacular garden and the entire property is extremely well secured.
We will definitely return to Bay Tree in 2014 when we travel from Vancouver to visit our family in Pretoria. Renee is a wonderful, friendly and organized hostess and her attention to detail is immaculate. We are both ex-Pretorians and highly recommend staying here on your next visit.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanleyVancouver_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews