We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$206
View deal
Hotels.comUS$206
TravelocityUS$206
CheapTicketsUS$206
Orbitz.comUS$206
TripadvisorUS$206
Destinia.com
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
279
62
17
15
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
279
62
17
15
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar bygone era boutique hotel rovos rail birthday party beautiful garden johannes foster venue jaco treatment furnishings sa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2020

The most Instagramable location: fantastic Victorian architecture, beautiful garden!
top notch food.
I really enjoyed my stay here, the hotel owner is the nicest and most caring lady - I left earrings in the room after checkout, she made sure they return back to me!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherpa248130
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2020

On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Gerald, who offered us a refreshing drink, we were a given a choice of enjoying our anniversary dinner in an intimate wine cellar or on a Colonial verandah that evokes memories of a bygone era. The table settings were neatly appointed, with King's pattern cutlery. Our dinner was cooked to perfection and our dessert was a decadent experience. A special thank you to Marietjie and her dedicated team for a memorable evening. Definitely worth a visit! Highly recommended for those who appreciate the finer things in life.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Availablespec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2020

Stayed here only 1 night as we were to go on The Rovos Rail the next morning. Waited a good hour to check in ....we were given the menu to choose our food for dinner ....this was at 3.30 pm . We were getting tired of waiting to be shown to our room as we had traveled all morning and wanted a short nap. Eventually we were shown a room 1 floor up in a corner which had a bed this room led to another which had another bed then a bathroom...this meant we were to sleep separately as the beds were too small for 2 to sleep. Anyway by now it was nearly 5 pm & we had ordered dinner for 7pm as we wanted an early night ...! We were down just before 7 to order wine or have a drink before dinner. We ordered wine waited a good 40 mins for starters which were okay nothing exciting. Main course of course took another 1 hour to come water that we requested never arrived. My husband had the beef which was simply inedible mine was also just okay so we sent his beef back and we agreed that we’ll have bread and go to bed . Which we did end up doing . Another table next to us seemed to have the same problem as there was a lot of waiting and arguments from that table. We left to go to sleep snacking on the cereal bars we carry for emergencies. The beds were the worst we have slept in a very very long time . Mine creaked at the slightest movement and my husbands was very uncomfortable. So we couldn’t sleep all night . Breakfast was the same nightmare experience..... we did not order anything apart from bread and tea ate it registered our disappointing experience and left.
Would definitely not recommend this venue .

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2020

I loved everything about my visit there,the staff,decor,food not to mention the ambiance .I would suggest that one is given the opportunity to order on the day of arrival but all in all It was like being in a dream

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nkosinathi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

It was like stepping back in time to the days of elegant travel! The house is an elegant turn of the century style edifice with lovely wood floors and antiques furnishings. The rooms are spacious and charming!

The staff made all the difference! Foster, Remi and Johannes took such good care of us during our stay and were very courteous.

Annie and the staff in the kitchen did a marvelous job with the meals! Our Christmas Eve dinner was a culinary delight!

We highly recommend this hotel to visitors to Pretoria looking for a touch of old world charm!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Illyria House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Best Norman,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for this wonderful review!

What a delight it is to read that you had such a great stay with us over Christmas, it was an absolute pleasure hosting your lovely family. Furthermore, we are thrilled to read that our facilities met and exceeded your expectations - from the furnishing and decor to our individually decorated rooms and service from our personnel. We will be sure to pass along the wonderful compliments to our staff, we know they will appreciate it dearly.

We look forward to your next visit and hopefully you get to stay more than one evening.

Best wishes and kindest regards,
Illyria House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews