We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Carl

Memorable Wedding anniversary dinner at Illyria House

Review of Illyria House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2020
On arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Gerald, who offered us a refreshing drink, we were a given a choice of enjoying our anniversary dinner in an intimate wine cellar or on a Colonial verandah that evokes memories of a bygone era. The table settings were neatly appointed, with King's pattern cutlery. Our dinner was cooked to perfection and our dessert was a decadent experience. A special thank you to Marietjie and her dedicated team for a memorable evening. Definitely worth a visit! Highly recommended for those who appreciate the finer things in life.
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 015
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 4 015
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 666
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 027
3.9 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast room
R 1 145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 849
  • Agoda.com
    R 766
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 091
3.4 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
R 604
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 692
  • Agoda.com
    R 547
  • Hotels.com
    R 690
1.7 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
R 1 004
  • Priceline
    R 839
  • Agoda.com
    R 729
  • Expedia.com
    R 993
1.7 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 1 622
  • Priceline
    R 1 622
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 622
  • Vio.com
    R 1 622
6.1 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 969
  • Official Site
    R 2 548
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 811
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 431
8.0 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 250
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 204
  • Agoda.com
    R 770
  • Priceline
    R 1 200
6.6 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 142
  • Priceline
    R 1 190
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 047
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 194
18.5 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
R 950
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 950
  • Agoda.com
    R 950
14.2 km from Illyria House
Free parking
Pool
R 532
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 532
  • Vio.com
    R 532
  • eDreams
2.2 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pretoria
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
279
62
17
15
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
279
62
17
15
28
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2020

Stayed here only 1 night as we were to go on The Rovos Rail the next morning. Waited a good hour to check in ....we were given the menu to choose our food for dinner ....this was at 3.30 pm . We were getting tired of waiting to be shown to our room as we had traveled all morning and wanted a short nap. Eventually we were shown a room 1 floor up in a corner which had a bed this room led to another which had another bed then a bathroom...this meant we were to sleep separately as the beds were too small for 2 to sleep. Anyway by now it was nearly 5 pm & we had ordered dinner for 7pm as we wanted an early night ...! We were down just before 7 to order wine or have a drink before dinner. We ordered wine waited a good 40 mins for starters which were okay nothing exciting. Main course of course took another 1 hour to come water that we requested never arrived. My husband had the beef which was simply inedible mine was also just okay so we sent his beef back and we agreed that we’ll have bread and go to bed . Which we did end up doing . Another table next to us seemed to have the same problem as there was a lot of waiting and arguments from that table. We left to go to sleep snacking on the cereal bars we carry for emergencies. The beds were the worst we have slept in a very very long time . Mine creaked at the slightest movement and my husbands was very uncomfortable. So we couldn’t sleep all night . Breakfast was the same nightmare experience..... we did not order anything apart from bread and tea ate it registered our disappointing experience and left.
Would definitely not recommend this venue .

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deeeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020

I loved everything about my visit there,the staff,decor,food not to mention the ambiance 👌🏾.I would suggest that one is given the opportunity to order on the day of arrival but all in all It was like being in a dream

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nkosinathi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

It was like stepping back in time to the days of elegant travel! The house is an elegant turn of the century style edifice with lovely wood floors and antiques furnishings. The rooms are spacious and charming!

The staff made all the difference! Foster, Remi and Johannes took such good care of us during our stay and were very courteous.

Annie and the staff in the kitchen did a marvelous job with the meals! Our Christmas Eve dinner was a culinary delight!

We highly recommend this hotel to visitors to Pretoria looking for a touch of old world charm!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Illyria House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Best Norman,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for this wonderful review!

What a delight it is to read that you had such a great stay with us over Christmas, it was an absolute pleasure hosting your lovely family. Furthermore, we are thrilled to read that our facilities met and exceeded your expectations - from the furnishing and decor to our individually decorated rooms and service from our personnel. We will be sure to pass along the wonderful compliments to our staff, we know they will appreciate it dearly.

We look forward to your next visit and hopefully you get to stay more than one evening.

Best wishes and kindest regards,
Illyria House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

This place photographs well, but it’s very creepy and run down. Like staying with The Addams Family. Hideous Victorian decor, very uncomfortable beds. We waited an hour to check in, and another hour for our meal. The only redeeming features: the two overworked guys on staff couldn’t be nicer, and the lobster from Mozambique was delicious.
When I asked what wines they had by the glass, they pulled out one bottle out of the closet. I asked it it has been opened today, and they said “no, yesterday.” So much for sampling great South African wines... 😂😂😂

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank boissjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2019

It was a pleasure to stay at Illyria Hotel in Pretoria. A lovely place with friendly people and nice host.
The best food made with care for guests on special recipes. The hotel ambiance is so pleasant, green, fantastic museum design, classic music and full of history style. I enjoyed the time spent at Illyria and wish to go back there again.

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Illyria House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2019

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your amazing feedback, we dearly appreciate it!

We are thrilled to read that everything met with your expectations and that you had a lovely stay with us! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Illyria House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews