We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Diana M
Chisinau, Moldova

Beautiful hotel with nice people

Review of Illyria House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Dec 2019
It was a pleasure to stay at Illyria Hotel in Pretoria. A lovely place with friendly people and nice host.
The best food made with care for guests on special recipes. The hotel ambiance is so pleasant, green, fantastic museum design, classic music and full of history style. I enjoyed the time spent at Illyria and wish to go back there again.
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Illyria House, responded to this review
Responded 18 Dec 2019
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your amazing feedback, we dearly appreciate it!

We are thrilled to read that everything met with your expectations and that you had a lovely stay with us! It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Illyria House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 915
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 3 915
  • Vio.com
    R 3 523
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 915
3.9 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 902
  • Priceline
    R 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 789
  • Expedia.com
    R 807
3.4 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 272
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 162
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 494
6.6 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 831
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 2 831
  • Vio.com
    R 2 594
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 832
16.5 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
  • Priceline
    R 604
  • Agoda.com
    R 550
  • Expedia.com
    R 588
1.7 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
  • Priceline
    R 839
  • Agoda.com
    R 752
  • Expedia.com
    R 871
1.7 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Standard Double Room
  • Priceline
    R 865
  • Agoda.com
    R 645
  • Expedia.com
    R 738
1.9 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 190
  • Trip.com
    R 1 127
  • Priceline
    R 1 190
18.5 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
    R 532
  • Vio.com
    R 532
  • eDreams
2.2 km from Illyria House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pretoria
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
279
62
17
15
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
279
62
17
15
28
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2019

Everything was wonderful, food , treatments, all of it. Lovely area and facilities. The food was delicious and service excellent. The therapists doing treatments were wonderful, the facilities were excellent, especially the sauna. Liked the room with own bathroom and the two bed option

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ekriel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Illyria House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2019

Good day
Thank you for taking the time to give us your lovely feedback.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay and found everything wonderful. The gardens are indeed beautiful and a delight for the eye.
Our Spa is lovely and the ladies make each guest feel at home.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019

Thanks a million for an ABSOLUTELY AWESOME stay at your most beautiful antique venuel. The atmosphere is so romantic, the hospitality friendly and the food absolutely DELICIOUS. Thanks for being the cherry on my very special B-day surprise. It was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! Lots of love
Emile & Muranda-Lynn

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank emilebouwer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Illyria House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Good day Emile and Muranda-Lynn
Thank you for your lovely 5-star review.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the true experience that Illyria has to offer.
We do hope to welcome you back soon.
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2019

We had a 50th birthday party at Illyria house last weekend, and that was just THE most amazing experience!
The hotel is beautiful, the style is beyond what words can describe!
The food and service was better than anyone could hope for, really best food I had in ages!
The staff and hostess really went our of their way to make it such a special evening with a eye to detail!

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Annekeschultz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Illyria House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Dear Anneke
Thank you for your lovely review. It is such a delight to hear that you enjoyed the birthday party at Illyria House. We were honored you host your event.
The staff do go out of their way to make each guest feel welcome.
we do hope to welcome you back soon.
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2019

Thank you Jaco and the staff for a wonderful morning at Illyria House!!! The service was excellent!!!
My friends will definitely return in future. We enjoyed the garden view. The hospitality was noticed and the staff made us feel at home.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank W9938LApaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Illyria House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Good day
Thank you for taking the time to give us your lovely review.
We are so happy to hear that you had a lovely kitchen tea and enjoyed the garden and hospitality that we have to offer.
We cant wait to welcome you back to Illyria House.
Have a lovely day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2019

We spent 5 nights of our honeymoon in this lovingly decorated colonial style hotel. Already at the arrival we were warmly welcomed. The hotel has 12 rooms and offers enough space to move freely in the garden, at one of the two pools or in the teahouse. The garden is lined with colourful flowers and cypresses. You feel like in paradise. We already met the owner of the colonial property on the first evening. A wonderful lady with an incredible artistic talent. Breakfast was served every morning on the covered terrace overlooking the wide garden. Besides fresh fruits there was an incredibly varied selection of skewers (Pancakes, Egg Benedict,...).
The staff was extremely courteous! We had one partially two servants, who were responsible only for us. Absolutely professional, fast and reliable!! Dinner was so delicious, we didn't have an evening out of the house. Our highlight was the seafood platter for 2 to celebrate! We had an unforgettable dinner in a wine cellar with fantastic accompanying wines.
The wellness offer was to be booked at very short notice, which is why we made 2 spa days. An absolute recommendation!
For the following day we were organised a city tour with a private guide.
All in all, we can only enthuse and would come back here at any time.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Schantell E, Guest Relations Manager at Illyria House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2019

Good morning Elke,
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are delighted to hear that we made your honeymoon unforgettable.
Illyria House is indeed a gem in Pretoria and once you are at the house you forget that you are in the city. Our gardens are very special. Our butlers go out of their way to make the guests feel welcome and treat them.
As the spa is on the property and we do have permanent therapists it is ideal for last-minute bookings.
We do hope that we can welcome you back soon.
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews