We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
phetsilemm
Mbabane, Eswatini (Swaziland)

Expectations Exceeded

Review of Manhattan Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Nov 2022
Initially I did not have high hopes for this hotel because of its location, however I was pleasantly surprised and proven wrong. The hotel exceeded all expectations, the rooms were spacious and clean, the food was divine and service was excellent especially the well mannered and friendly shuttle drivers. I will definitely come back.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yolandi loock, Other at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 16 Nov 2022
Dear Phetsiemm,

Thank you so much for this amazing review, thank you for staying at Manhattan Hotel Pretoria.

We truly hope to see you very soon again.

Kind regards, Yolandi Loock
Executive Assistant

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Standard Double Room
R 690
  • Expedia.com
    R 644
  • Agoda.com
    R 612
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Manhattan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 915
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 925
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 915
  • Priceline
    R 3 915
5.5 km from Manhattan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast room
R 922
  • Priceline
    R 850
  • Expedia.com
    R 945
  • Algotels
    R 1 081
4.5 km from Manhattan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 154
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 990
  • Agoda.com
    R 851
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 154
8.2 km from Manhattan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 261
R 2 831
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 885
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 925
  • Priceline
    R 2 832
17.0 km from Manhattan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 070
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 943
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 627
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 930
19.0 km from Manhattan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 133
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 136
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 026
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 133
19.1 km from Manhattan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 532
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 532
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
3.0 km from Manhattan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 760
  • Vio.com
    R 692
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Manhattan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pretoria
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
58
64
40
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
58
64
40
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyed the live music family suite shuttle service security personnel excellent service room service keep up the good work out of this world rockefeller
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2022 via mobile

The Manhattan Hotel in Central Pretoria exceeded many expectations. From the amazing shuttle service and impeccably dressed and mannered drivers, to the food, decor and personal service. We got a family suite which was clean, spacious and just perfect for a girl's trip. Needed to go anywhere just call reception and they book your trip. Room service was exquisite. When last did you eat something without needing to add seasoning. The buffet we had on the first night was out of this world. After a good 28yrs I finally was able to eat the crackling of the pork roast. Yes imagine. Crispy but edible. I was in heaven. Beautiful lounge on the first floor for selfies which I normally don't do but the setting was just stunning. I'm definitely coming back. When a place is this good you'd be crazy not to relive the experience.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 694Shantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yolandi loock, Other at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2022

Good morning Shantel,

Oh Wow ! Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are so glad you experienced a warm stay. I agree, Our staff is Amazing and kind.

Receiving feedback like this really makes me happy!

Thank you for choosing the Manhattan Hotel.

We will share this amazing review to all our staff.

We truly appreciate your feedback and business, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Have a great weekend

Kind regards, Yolandi
Manhattan Hotel Pretoria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2022 via mobile

I have used the Hotel for years doing events, but since last year the service quality has changed and it is very bad, also the prices are abnormal for small products, also the lady called Thembi is very rude and totally have no idea what customer services is, she is desrepecful, rude and bully. I am not longer comfortable in bring my events there and will surely not recommend the hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mrmofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yolandi loock, Other at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2022

Dear Mrmofire,

Thank you so much for the detailed review, we always appreciate it. We would love to get in touch with you to get more detailed information in order for the Manager to give you valued feedback.

We do hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards, Manhattan Hotel Pretoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2022 via mobile

I really enjoyed the live music session by Just lindor and lindo yesterday at the bar. Its a calming and soulful session i needed after a long day. The staff are also very friendly and pay good attention to customers

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank nosiphon2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yolandi loock, Other at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2022

Dear Nosipho.

Thank you so much for your positive comments about our Live Entertainment in the bar.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Have an amazing day!

Kind regards, Yolandi Loock
Executive Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2021

After waiting for our room to be cleaned which was not ready on time allocated, things just got worse as we went to eat. The restaurant had booked a wedding reception which did not allow the paying guest space to eat. Further to this the COVID regulations items of capacity was not followed. It was at 100% capacity with people not waring masks as required by the health department. When raising this with the manager I was informed that we will be contacted by the manager today. Till now nothing has happened.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C1579JGpaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yolandi Loock, Other at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

Dear Paul L,

Thank you so much for your valued feedback, we always appreciate it.

One of our Amazing Leaders will be in contact with you to get more information, in order for them to give you valued feedback.

We do hope to see you very soon again.

Kind regards,
Yolandi Loock
Manhattan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2021

I attended a 4-day conference and was quite impressed. Staff were friendly and helpful - from security who assisted with parking, to the reception, to the waiters at the conference venue. Lunch was a lovely buffet with an excellent dessert table. Conference venue was lovely with all expected amenities. Water and mints refilled after break, tea and coffee with refreshments in the morning upon arrival and again during tea break (before lunch). The hotel reminds me of European hotels.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank sunshine_sliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yolandi Loock, Other at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2021

Good morning

It is indeed a good morning when I receive amazing feedback like this!

Thank you so much for having a conference with us and for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Manhattan Hotel Pretoria.

Now more than ever we appreciate every single guest that walks through our doors.

I will share your wonderful feedback on our Employee WhatsApp group.

Thanks again and stay Safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews