We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Teambear2014
Johannesburg, South Africa

Relaxation and Reset

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Jun 2023
I went to Hoogland over the weekend for some much needed rest and relaxation, and that is exactly what I received. One can expect a very functional building (it is not fancy), with neat and clean rooms. What this is about is not a luxury stay, but a healthy and beneficial retreat. Your days and goals can be as busy or as relaxed as you choose, depending on your package selected. It is run by medical professionals so if you have a health concern you can choose a package to fit your requirements with the assistance and monitoring you need.

I just went to relax and so didn't use the medical facilities, but did attend meditation, pilates, the hikes, a dance class, informative evening talks, and I had spa treatments. I also used the hydo facilities, which is an important aspect consisting of the hydro cycle: exercise, massage (either at the spa or the jet pools / hot tubs), heat (steam or sauna) and cold plunge. The grounds are incredible.

If you don't do the water fast, there is a variety of healthy foods on offer. Each day the spread is diverse and very tasty. Everything is fresh with no salt, sugar or preservatives. This is one of the best parts of the stay.

Highly recommended to anyone who needs a "reset".
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 015
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 006
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 3 903
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 015
23.3 km from Hoogland Health Hydro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
R 688
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
    R 534
  • Priceline
    R 604
  • Hotels.com
    R 598
20.9 km from Hoogland Health Hydro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 1 148
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    R 1 148
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 144
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 148
22.8 km from Hoogland Health Hydro
Free Wifi
Pool
R 716
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 350
  • Agoda.com
    R 493
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 346
25.5 km from Hoogland Health Hydro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast room
R 934
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 976
  • Agoda.com
    R 785
  • Hotels.com
    R 849
24.7 km from Hoogland Health Hydro
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
R 792
  • Expedia.com
    R 868
  • Agoda.com
    R 642
  • Priceline
    R 746
20.3 km from Hoogland Health Hydro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 1 622
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 622
  • Priceline
    R 1 622
  • Vio.com
    R 1 619
27.3 km from Hoogland Health Hydro
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 701
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 077
  • Agoda.com
    R 768
  • Hotels.com
    R 939
27.0 km from Hoogland Health Hydro
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 116
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 127
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 062
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 130
39.0 km from Hoogland Health Hydro
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 532
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 532
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
23.3 km from Hoogland Health Hydro
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pretoria
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
94
54
15
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
94
54
15
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cold plunge medical facilities spa treatments retreat relaxation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2021

My heart is filled with gratitude for my incredible stay at Hoogland Health Hydro. Thank you to all the friendly staff who go the extra mile to make you feel loved and nurtured in all ways. The food is totally delicious and nutritious, the hydro circuit is a delight for body and being, the breathtaking views from the beautiful nature walks feed the soul. The spa treatments bring great relaxation allowing tension to melt away. The medical facilities and programs transform many health conditions. Heartfelt gratitude to all at Hoogland Health Hydro for your loving service in transforming many lives. 🙏🌈💝🦋

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2021

Remarkable that amidst the third wave and people dying all over South Africa - Hoogland has a no-mask-wearing policy! And they call themselves "health providers" 😆. They are lovely otherwise - and some fantastic providers/staff who DO know their stuff but unfortunately mixed with other owners/managers who are clearly anti-science and woefully misinformed.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveller816834
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2021

This is my second time staying at Hoogland. It is one of the most amazing places I've visited globally and I have travelled extensively. I initially came for burn out and then later came back just to relax and have a healthy, invigorating break over Christmas and new year. It nurtures the mind, body and soul. The food is excellent and all gut healthy, the talks are fascinating and the massage and hydro pampering. I love that it is a family run centre. The love of the family and the commitment they have to protecting people and the planet's health is uplifting. If you have serious health problems or significant health goals outstanding medical support from both medical and psychological health experts is at your finger tips. I saw many guests transformed. It was inspiring to see. It is a great place to go if you are traveling solo. I've made life long friends here.

Room tip: Not all of the rooms have wifi so guests can switch off.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HelenaMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2020

The best 10 days spent at Hoogland
So much to do but no pressure to participate if you do not want to.
Wonderful like minded people.
Hikes were so beautiful and informative.
Amazing healthy food.
Felt cared for from the minute I arrived.
Cant wait to return

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biancataitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2020

A 70's charm when things were built to last. Rustic and comforting like a grandparent's house. Things might look a little old, but they work. You can concentrate on what matters - you - with little distraction. An emphasis of quality over quantity is found within and out of the Hydro. Find a pause in a world that glorifies busy.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews