We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
amu m
Pretoria, South Africa

Nice short getaway from a city life

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Dec 2023
The place is lush with nature. A nice breakaway just a short drive from a city life. As this was a business trip, everything was timed and based on a set agenda. So the one thing I didn't like was the long walk from the conference room to the breakfast and lunch areas. Another thing is that there were lot of flies everywhere especially when they was food around. The rooms were a nice size and clean however, I would suggest that they provide an iron for each room because as we were a big group people had to wait for irons which made them late for the meeting.

Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Wear comfortable shoes for those long walks
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 622
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 622
14.9 km from The Blades Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast room
R 1 145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 840
  • Expedia.com
    R 915
15.3 km from The Blades Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 316
R 1 133
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 190
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 190
  • Priceline
0.7 km from The Blades Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 181
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 701
  • Agoda.com
    R 778
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 172
16.5 km from The Blades Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
R 865
  • Expedia.com
    R 990
  • Agoda.com
    R 813
  • StayForLong
19.0 km from The Blades Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
getlstd_property_photo
R 950
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 950
22.0 km from The Blades Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 532
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 532
  • Vio.com
    R 532
  • eDreams
16.3 km from The Blades Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    R 1 840
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 881
  • Booking.com
    R 1 962
16.5 km from The Blades Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 690
  • Vio.com
    R 595
  • Priceline
    R 604
18.4 km from The Blades Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 782
  • Agoda.com
    R 687
  • Hotels.com
17.0 km from The Blades Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pretoria
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
167
88
32
6
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
167
88
32
6
14
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2023

The Blades is one of our favourite work retreat venues. excellent catering and also lovely rooms. The best was the spa experience! the boma night braai is also a big YES for the social event during a work retreat. Very convenient for people not wanting to travel far but would like a lovely bushveld experience.

Room tip: Nice rooms, walking distance from Pienaarsrivier dam, lovely setting with great Spa service.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Erna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2022

We booked with booking.com a week prior to arrival. The room was not allocated by the hotel, receptionists asking us questions making as if we hadn’t booked. Walking into the room we smelt the humidity and damp which put us off totally . We were told the lodge was fully booked so no rooms available to move us to. They sprayed the room which did not take the smell away. Rooms looked a lot better on the website, the price did not match the room. On a positive note, the restaurant staff were super friendly and the food was outstanding. Lovely sunset views from the deck . Pool was lovely however the sun lounges had no cushions .

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Killas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2021 via mobile

I can make my self believe that once upon a time this was a 4 star establishment but sadly not even close anymore.

Avoid this place unless you enjoy unruly neighbours partying till 03:30 in the morning with no response from the supposed 24 hour available duty manager.

Avoid unless you enjoy a run down hotel with no or very little maintenance.

Avoid unless you enjoy rap music played at levels so loud that you can barely hear your companion while paying inflated prices for mediocre food and drinks.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank irtanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2021

Pleasant, quiet location with a great view, rooms isolated and private, and staff who seem to above and beyond the call of duty to meet guests' needs. I was on a business trip, arriving late and leaving early, so can't comment on the bar or on the food generally, although the room service sandwich arrived promptly and was better than most

Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank david3753
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2020

I decided the morning of my birthday to book myself for 1 night stay at the hotel and massage. When I got to the hotel, the Receptionist was wonderful as well as the welcoming area. It was so breathtaking, I had high expectations. My room was facing the bush, which blocked the sun and the view was clustered. I also found the room okay, not quite spectacular as I thought. It would do with some brightness, especially the couch and linen. The food, drinks and restaurant service was the highlight of the trip. The massage the following day, was also okay. Overall, the experience was average, there was nothing mind blowing, no scene/activity that blew my mind away. If you want to eat and sleep the whole time booked here, than sure you can do that in peace.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NonkieStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews