We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big burgers”
Review of Ed's Diner

Ed's Diner
Ranked #62 of 833 Restaurants in Pretoria
Price range: US$3 - US$11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ed's Diner is a retro diner that caters for the hungry! We specialise in BIG burgers and all-round comfort food, so if your in the mood for some ''bigger-is-always-better'' American cuisine or it's your cheat day, come round to Ed's for the best burgers on the planet and beyond!
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Booked in advance, which I was glad we did because they were really busy.

We're greeted friendly by all staff.

Waitress was on point!
Drinks were just served when our food arrived.
8x different orders - pizza, burgers etc - which was all correct.
Burger & chips was really big & delicious. Pizza's fresh & tasty too. And the milkshakes a definite must!

The seats need a bit of TLC (thus not awarding 5 stars). It was torn & needs to be reupholstered as many people
were seated there before us, cushions have reached their sell by date.
Also, (and we didn't confirm this) - I dont think that the aircon on level 3 worked. It was very hot!

Overall a fun night, with good food. Typical diner atmosphere. Good for families with young kids.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank An3Theyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Best burgers and milkshakes in town. Great 60's vibe. Reasonable prices, a bit more expensive that most family restaurants but worth it.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Nadia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We had a friend's birthday get together here and it was so nice. Loved the Mighty One Bite's!! The portion size's are reasonable and the food is very good. They have some very groovy milkshakes to try! My hubby had the peanut butter one and he loved it!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chellyrock93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

What a fun night out! And a bargain to top it all off! Awesome cocktails and during happy hour it is buy one get one free! The food is excellent and I would definitely recommend their wings! The perfect place for the middle of the month when your wallet doesn't want to keep up with your social life!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank apieterse4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Ed's Diner goes for that 1950's diner experience, and does really well on theme.
The milkshakes are superb, and the food comes in LARGE portions. I had the pulled pork roll, very nice, but maybe a tad less mayonnaise would have been better. My friends preferred the old menu, without the "build your own" options.
Service slowed down towards the later part of the night.
Otherwise, great for dinner out with friends

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ed's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ed's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing