We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gastronomical experience”
Review of Restaurant Mosaic

Restaurant Mosaic
Ranked #1 of 833 Restaurants in Pretoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$51 - US$80
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Mosaic at The Orient Private Hotel is this country’s finest destination restaurant and private hotel. Award-winning South African Chef Chantel Dartnall is known for presenting the art of nature on her plates through her botanical cuisine to take you on a culinary tour of pure indulgence. Bask in the sophisticated atmosphere of exotic spaces; an Oriental style oasis set in lush and tranquil 280h of the Francolin Conservancy. The Mosaic cellar is unparalleled in this country with some of the most exceptional and rare wines from both South Africa and internationally.
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Superb atmosphere, outstanding cuisine ( chef was female chef of the world ) Chantal Dartnell. Food &Wine pairing in a wonderful setting. Service excellent.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gerdag243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018

There is a turnoff in the bushveld outside Pretoria and suddenly you are in a Moroccan dreamworld of towers, hidden courtyards, beautiful trees, gardens and waterfeatures. Exquisitely carved huge doors and bowls with flowers.
The theme continues into the restaurant with tables surrounded by etched glass and handpainted tiles.
Chantel Dartnall, the chef, introduced herself and explained the menu in a warm, relaxed informal manner.
We chose the market degustation menu with wine pairing, and what a dinner !!
Each and every course exquisitely prepared and presented, with breads, flavoured butters, infused teas, magnificent wines and outstanding service. For me the standout dishes were mushroom and truffle risotto, suckling pig and the Rocamadour dessert, all of which were wonderful, with rich complex layers of flavour.
Overall a memorable experience !!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fishenews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Had lunch with my daughter as a special treat. An unforgettable experience. From the moment we walked in the door , everything was perfect. The food was out of this world.
Thank you Chantel for a memorable afternoon

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rose4105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely the best !
Even a second time !
Don’t be fooled by this amazing restaurant it is the best standard ever , perhaps close to a thousand rand a head , but just remember in Europe this could cost ten times more as this is very close to visiting a Michelin star restaurant

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank hekpoortheksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

THE GOOD:

Excellent service
Amazing food
Personal touch

THE NOT SO GOOD:

Not much

We went to eat here on our way back to the UK and drove between flights just to eat at here. I can not be even more impressed at the service and the food. One of the best places we have eaten in our lives. The fact that the owner/chef comes out and talks to you is such a lovely touch that is lost at other restaurants. We had not realised that the lunch was going to take longer than we had planned and they were very accommodating in serving their lunch a bit quicker than they normally would. If we have one regret it is not being able to stay longer and enjoy the tasting menu with the wine pairings. Something we will do in the future as we will come back here.

The food presentation was amazing and the flavours were outstanding. I am a big eater and we had the smaller tasting menu and I was completely full, perhaps if we had longer we could have managed the bigger tasting menu which looked amazing.

If you are anywhere near the area or in the country this is one restaurant you have to try.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank thecheechman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Mosaic also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to Restaurant Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing