We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
altheafoster
Oxford, United Kingdom

All round- Five star experience!!!

Review of The Orient
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Nov 2020via mobile
We stayed overnight, however it felt like an entire week. An absolutely beautiful venue, impeccable service! Truly one for your bucket list. Chef Chantel is truly a creative genius, a master chef in the true sense: an authentic, beautiful experience!!
We will definitely return!!
A PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN GEM..
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 4 015
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 015
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 666
  • Priceline
    R 4 015
23.4 km from The Orient
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 716
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 350
  • Agoda.com
    R 508
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 350
24.0 km from The Orient
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast room
R 1 145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 849
  • Agoda.com
    R 766
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 088
23.5 km from The Orient
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
R 604
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 690
  • Agoda.com
    R 547
  • Hotels.com
    R 690
19.5 km from The Orient
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
R 802
  • Priceline
    R 839
  • Agoda.com
    R 729
  • Expedia.com
    R 990
19.1 km from The Orient
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 1 622
  • Priceline
    R 1 622
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 622
  • Vio.com
    R 1 622
26.6 km from The Orient
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 999
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 431
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 865
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 431
28.2 km from The Orient
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 250
  • Agoda.com
    R 770
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 200
26.9 km from The Orient
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 117
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 190
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 060
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 190
36.2 km from The Orient
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 532
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 532
  • Vio.com
    R 532
  • eDreams
22.0 km from The Orient
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pretoria
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
110
9
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
110
9
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2020

What an amazing experience. The food (Chantel), sommelier (Moses), service and accommodation were absolutely world class. The attention to detail was exquisite and they made us feel so special!! Thank you, can highly recommend The Restaurant Mosaic and The Orient Hotel.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Marlize K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2020

From the moment we drove through the giant entrance doors, we were catapulted into the magical world of the Orient Hotel and a treasure trove of visual delights - rich fabrics, exquisitely carved furniture, the sumptuous comfort of our room; a superb architectural space housing an extensive art collection; lush gardens with birdsong, water features and secret places where one could sit and indulge in a mint tea..
The piece de resistance was dinner at the Mosaic - a gastronomic experience, each dish meticulously choreographed with remarkable detail to charm the eye and the palate, greatly enhanced by the expertise of the sommelier and superb service.
The next day - an excellent breakfast - the humble egg, bacon, oats and scones were transformed into culinary masterpieces!
Thank you to Mari, Melanie, Chantal and the wonderful staff for an unforgettable experience.

Room tip: The Kathmandu was excellent.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 431gillianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2020 via mobile

This place in one of a kind. The interior is amazing and to hear that everything was an original was extraordinary. Dinner at the Mosaic was beyond expectations. The staff were friendly and professional. Meeting Chantel was like meeting a celebrity 😀. Mari runs the hotel like a well oiled machine. Not having a reception desk was something to get used to but it was no problem at all as everything in the room was beyond perfect. Our highlight was Moses the Sommelier who made my husband feel like a child in a candy store with his excellent choice of wines. We had a truly memorable time.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kimberlysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2019

The hotel is a short drive outside of Pretoria and the hotel itself boasts an art gallery, beautiful views and amazing food. The attention to detail is astounding and you would be remiss if you did not book dinner at restaurant Mosaic. Did I tell you that the food was amazing? This venue is delightful and perfect for recharging batteries and providing a retreat from the city life.

Room tip: Any room is beautiful and boasts its own charm and stunning views of the area.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brittonleola
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2019 via mobile

We absolutely love this hotel and the restaurant Mosaic. We always have the most wonderful stay and meals here. Our suite was beautiful and perfect, and every detail is taken care of. The hotel is peaceful, with beautiful gardens, and the new art gallery is a world class experience. We always look forward to chef Chantel’s meals, with great anticipation, and, once again we were amazed by her talent, quality of detail and overall perfection on each plate. The wines are paired perfectly, and the ambience was perfect once again. Whenever we leave here, we already start planning our next visit. Thank you to Mari, Chantel and every staff member who ensures perfection throughout.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChristelleWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews