We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Geórgenes Marcal
Brazil

Do you want to feel like a criminal? Come here!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Dec 2023via mobile
Had to stay at the hotel because I’m a diplomat at the Brazilian Embassy in Pretoria and had to attend a BRICS event there. They’re clearly not prepared to deal with international conferences. Getting in the hotel and specially out of the hotel will make you feel like you’re a criminal. Had a massive discussion with the security guy when he demanded to check my diplomatic vehicle (did anyone ever hear about the Vienna Convention on diplomatic relations?). No one seemed to care about diplomatic immunity and I felt extremely offended. Worst part was to wonder if this is really their protocol or if this kind of behavior was racially motivated, since diplomats from other countries didn’t report any problems. Will make sure to have them blacklisted by the Brazilian Embassy. Truly a shame.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francois Stremmelaar, General Manager at Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate, responded to this review
Responded 14 Dec 2023
Dear Mr. Georgenes Marçal,

I understand your concerns and respect your viewpoint as well as feedback, but I must emphasize that our organization operates on a strict policy of respect and inclusivity towards all individuals.

Discriminatory remarks or allegation towards our security personal treating you with intend because of race, regardless of context, are not at all acceptable. We have exclusive high-level relationships with various Embassies in Pretoria and as such have hosted from ambassadors to various levels on embassy personal. In addition, we have hosted very high-level governmental event including minister and our president in addition a lot of high-level corporate individual and never has our intention to safeguard our property been questioned or commented in such a derogative way as you did. In fact, we have received many compliments of our level of security and related company policies.

We value diplomatic immunity and relations very highly and pride ourselves in the relationships we have with various embassies, yet diplomatic immunity does not exempt anyone from adhering to basic standards of decency and respect to fellow human beings.

It goes without saying to kindly request a mutual commitment to maintaining a respectful environment for all involved parties, if searching your car was such an issue or you felt that you had items in your car of high level concern then you could have kindly request that you rights should be given according to your diplomatic status, but to have treated our personal in such a way is unacceptable.

Lastly, I also am vehemently disappointed about your threating commentary to blacklist us with your embassy and find it completely unfair but given other feedback response you gave to institution on the public domain I can say I am not surprised.

We would love to welcome you back to our establishment as you and the Brazilian Embassy will always be most welcome, but I do feel a mutual understanding of respect, and kindness is needed before you visit us again, please.

Sincerely,
Francois Stremmelaar
GENERAL MANAGER


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 249
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 249
12.2 km from Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 789
  • Expedia.com
    R 866
13.3 km from Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 885
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 856
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 715
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 856
14.7 km from Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
R 650
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 550
  • Expedia.com
    R 588
16.3 km from Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 025
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 896
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 025
14.7 km from Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 313
R 1 190
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 189
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 190
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 190
2.2 km from Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
R 755
  • Expedia.com
    R 843
  • Agoda.com
    R 645
  • Priceline
14.9 km from Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 515
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 515
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 515
  • Priceline
17.1 km from Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
R 807
  • Expedia.com
    R 990
  • Agoda.com
    R 750
  • Priceline
17.0 km from Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 532
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 532
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
14.3 km from Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pretoria
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
498
237
92
35
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
498
237
92
35
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews granita spa facilities library bar signature restaurant spa experience luxury room great spa romantic weekend course dinner executive room buffet breakfast out of this world attention to detail picnic kingsley venue conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2023

The place was stunning and was incredibly relaxing and just great overall. I would recommend the shower/bathroom area be thoroughly cleaned to remove old dirt marks as well as mould. The outside areas/stoop were being cleaned with dirty water. Water should be thrown out after each room/area is cleaned to ensure the dirty water is not just spread and floors wet to seem "clean". Overall staff and everything else was impeccable.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amrita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francois Stremmelaar, General Manager at Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2023

Dear Amy,

Thank you for the review of our hotel!

Thank you for your visit and for choosing to spend time with us, we truly appreciate your support and the business.

I take note that we did not exceed or meet your expectations on a few points, please feel free to share with me more information, in order for us to improve the offering and service.

The notes which you have shared I will address with my team ASAP.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Kievits Kroon and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Francois Stremmelaar
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2023 via mobile

From smooth and quick check in to superb dining this property is a real gem.
My husband and I needed some time alone from the kids yet we didn’t want to go too far from home. This was the best choice .
The rooms are specious and beautiful. The welcome eclairs were soft and fresh, I told myself I would eat them after dinner but once I tasted I could not stop myself.
From walking into the restaurant, the management was present and attentive. Our waiter Nthabiseng is such a gem, she is definitely upholding the image of the property well. Big ups on the chairs in the restaurant. I was relaxed I finished a bottle of wine alone 🙂🫢
Food was amazing from the beef medallions to lamb curry and finishing off with a sticky toffee pudding , I also added falafels… let me say it was a trip to flavour land.

Thank you so much will definitely come back with the kids soon.

Room tip: Keeping your stay short… you need more than a night
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Seaside36313305457
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francois Stremmelaar, General Manager at Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2023

Dear Ithabeleng

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

Thank you for your visit and for choosing to spend time with us, we truly appreciate your support and the business.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Kievits Kroon and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Francois Stremmelaar
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2023

If you don't know what to do with your money and you want something a little different, give this place a bash. Food is top notch. You'll feel like you're in the Western Cape a bit too. Shower a little tricky to get right. Other than that accommodations were good. Beautiful gardens.

Room tip: Have the oysters at breakfast. Super fresh.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mms219
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francois Stremmelaar, General Manager at Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

Thank you for your visit and for choosing to spend time with us, we truly appreciate your support and the business.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Kievits Kroon and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Francois Stremmelaar
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023

Very tranquil place for business or pleasure. Pools are sparkly and the staff are all professional and helpful. Food is out of this world and the 'cigar lounge' still has shelved books for reading pleasure. The best is the spa, tucked away - fantastic wine resort :)

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Global45687880041
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francois Stremmelaar, General Manager at Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Dear Jessica,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

Thank you for your visit and for choosing to spend time with us, we truly appreciate your support and the business.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Kievits Kroon and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Francois Stremmelaar
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2023

It was out of this world felt like am somewhere in cape town, the feeling is unexplainable. the calmness and the staff members are so welcoming.
the pool area loved it, i want to come back for picnic

Room tip: Book for wine tasting in advance, and make dinner reservations in advance.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lidia_bria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francois Stremmelaar, General Manager at Kievits Kroon Gauteng Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2023

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

Thank you for your visit and for choosing to spend time with us, we truly appreciate your support and the business.

I will ask our reservation team to contact you and assist with a picnic reservation. Thank you for your loyalty and support.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Kievits Kroon and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Francois Stremmelaar
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews