We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melvin Residence Guest House
Ranked #12 of 364 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Melvin Residence Guest House is quaint and conveniently located in near Pretoria's city centre. I found the owners very friendly and caring, and their breakfast tasty and well presented. The room I stayed in was basic but adequate. The only suggestion I have is to include a shower in the bathroom. My room only had a large bathtub.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lazlop811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Melvin Residence is a nice place to stay, it is peaceful and quiet in a busy city.
The garden was beautiful with the purple threes at the time we were there!
The owner and the staff were very friendly, and also very helpful!
A must to overnight!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annenelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Piet made my daughter and I so welcome. The house is beautiful and the gardens are magnificent - we loved the birds and visiting cat. Wonderfully quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was delicious and we were both sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ann2dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Pete greeted us upon arrival and he is charming and quite helpful. As the other reviews indicate B&B this is well located near the Union Building with it spectacular statue of Nelson Mandela.
Breakfast is served in an elegant room in a luxurious facility from the last century. It was good and included fruit and custom eggs.
Breaking with other reviews we would not return to this accommodation because we found Room 1 had several age and mechanical deficiencies.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful antique house with a very nice owner who takes time to talk to and help his guest.

The rooms are spacious and clean and a great breakfast will set you up for the day.

The location is convenient with Union buildings within walking distance.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dj0vl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
6.4 km away
Coral Tree House
Coral Tree House
#42 of 364 in Pretoria
66 reviews
6.2 km away
Mont D'or Bohemian House
Mont D'or Bohemian House
#4 of 364 in Pretoria
184 reviews
8.6 km away
Glen Marion Guest House
Glen Marion Guest House
#6 of 364 in Pretoria
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Bohemian Rhapsody Guest House  &  InnTshwane Lodge
2.4 km away
Morning Star Express Hotel
16.1 km away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#19 of 74 in Pretoria
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melvin Residence Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melvin Residence Guest House

Address: 184 Pine Street | Arcadia, Pretoria 0083, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 364 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range: R776 - R1 057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melvin Residence Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melvin Residence is a 4 star Guest House that ideally located for doing business in Pretoria. We offer:- Four luxury double rooms with en suite showers- One standard room with an en suite bathroom One single rooms with an en suite bathrooms- Private entrances with comfortable relaxation areas - An awesome view over the capital city- All rooms are fully air-conditioned- Easy access to highways leading north and south - Secure, fenced parking- Non-intrusive, but welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Melvin Residence Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing