We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
127
49
10
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
49
10
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union buildings guest house one night yogurt a wonderful stay enjoyed my stay easy access breakfast was excellent stay there again home away from home business trip piet garden hosts guesthouse cons embassies
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Melvin Residence is a nice place to stay, it is peaceful and quiet in a busy city.
The garden was beautiful with the purple threes at the time we were there!
The owner and the staff were very friendly, and also very helpful!
A must to overnight!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annenelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Piet made my daughter and I so welcome. The house is beautiful and the gardens are magnificent - we loved the birds and visiting cat. Wonderfully quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was delicious and we were both sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ann2dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Pete greeted us upon arrival and he is charming and quite helpful. As the other reviews indicate B&B this is well located near the Union Building with it spectacular statue of Nelson Mandela.
Breakfast is served in an elegant room in a luxurious facility from the last century. It was good and included fruit and custom eggs.
Breaking with other reviews we would not return to this accommodation because we found Room 1 had several age and mechanical deficiencies.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful antique house with a very nice owner who takes time to talk to and help his guest.

The rooms are spacious and clean and a great breakfast will set you up for the day.

The location is convenient with Union buildings within walking distance.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dj0vl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

A beautiful, quiet, well equipped apartment. Loved the cats who visited - especially the vocal grey satiny one. Piet van Biljon is an excellent host. Beautiful residence, with character and style.

Coming from water strapped Cape Town I was concerned about the leaking bath tap.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y3909ZXlindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews