We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melvin Residence Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$48
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kievits Kroon(Pretoria)
US$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Faircity Roodevallei(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
123
48
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
48
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion buildingsguest housepine streetcalling taxisclose to the city centerthe entire propertymin walkroom was spotlessone nightguest roomsfriendly environmentwithin walking distancestayed here for two nightswonderful hospitalitybeautiful gardena wonderful place to staybreakfast was delicious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Piet made my daughter and I so welcome. The house is beautiful and the gardens are magnificent - we loved the birds and visiting cat. Wonderfully quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was delicious and we were both sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ann2dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Pete greeted us upon arrival and he is charming and quite helpful. As the other reviews indicate B&B this is well located near the Union Building with it spectacular statue of Nelson Mandela.
Breakfast is served in an elegant room in a luxurious facility from the last century. It was good and included fruit and custom eggs.
Breaking with other reviews we would not return to this accommodation because we found Room 1 had several age and mechanical deficiencies.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Beautiful antique house with a very nice owner who takes time to talk to and help his guest.

The rooms are spacious and clean and a great breakfast will set you up for the day.

The location is convenient with Union buildings within walking distance.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dj0vl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

A beautiful, quiet, well equipped apartment. Loved the cats who visited - especially the vocal grey satiny one. Piet van Biljon is an excellent host. Beautiful residence, with character and style.

Coming from water strapped Cape Town I was concerned about the leaking bath tap.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y3909ZXlindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We lived at 184 Pine Street during the mid and late 70's. We were students at the time and the property was sort of a commune. What a pleasant surprise it was to see how well the old Victorian house was renovated and the huge improvement of the guest rooms. We really enjoyed our stay and recalled the "good old days". The very friendly owners even allowed us to tour the house (which is their private residence).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank flapb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews