We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shuttered
Vancouver, BC

great property, if only amenities were available

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Nov 2023
This is a big, busy convention hotel, attached to a casino. The room was well appointed, the beds were super comfy, the blackout curtains were much appreciated and the view over the playing fields was fun. We struggled to find/use the pool. The 1st floor pool was overflowing with convention delegates during the afternoon, then closed in the evening, and the top floor (15th?) pool was closed in the evening, despite posted hours otherwise. Ditto for a bar - the only place to get a drink in the evening was a very boring lobby bar, despite common areas on the upper levels that would have been great if they were open.

I was also incredibly frustrated to catch our housekeeper openly breaching the 'Save our Planet' policy posted in the room. We were there for two nights and our sheets and towels were all washed after the first night, despite the stated policy and us hanging up the towels. Sadly this issue happens at many hotels, but in somewhere like Africa where water is such a sparse resource, I really hoped better.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hazel Makwela, Guest Services / Front Office at The Maslow Hotel Time Square, responded to this review
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us.
On behalf of the entire team please accept our most sincere apologies for the frustration and discomfort caused to you while our guest. Please be assured that your detailed feedback has reached the attention of all involved and corrective action and training is in place with the relevant head of departments considering the areas of concern.

Regards,
Hazel Makwela: Hotel Duty Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 546
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    R 2 633
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 834
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 546
0.2 km from The Maslow Hotel Time Square
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 245
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 245
6.9 km from The Maslow Hotel Time Square
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
R 690
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 612
  • Agoda.com
    R 599
  • Priceline
    R 604
9.5 km from The Maslow Hotel Time Square
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast room
R 904
  • Priceline
    R 850
  • Expedia.com
    R 848
  • StayForLong
    R 1 162
6.3 km from The Maslow Hotel Time Square
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 575
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 710
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 215
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 710
1.5 km from The Maslow Hotel Time Square
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
R 758
  • Expedia.com
    R 858
  • Agoda.com
    R 675
  • Priceline
    R 865
8.5 km from The Maslow Hotel Time Square
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
R 856
  • Expedia.com
    R 990
  • Agoda.com
    R 797
  • Priceline
    R 839
9.7 km from The Maslow Hotel Time Square
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 2 831
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 831
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 831
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 831
14.9 km from The Maslow Hotel Time Square
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 133
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 190
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 075
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 190
16.5 km from The Maslow Hotel Time Square
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 532
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 532
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
7.4 km from The Maslow Hotel Time Square
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pretoria
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
36
34
24
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
34
24
17
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2023 via mobile

This hotel is average at best. We stayed for a night to attend the Backstreet Boys concert so whilst it catered for our needs, it was such an average experience that I think I should have given it a skip (the hotel, not the concert).

The good points: friendly staff on check-in and generally good service. The room was comfortable and spotless.

The bad points: the bathroom was not nice. Tiny toilet and shower cubicle with pipes that made a huge noise when the hot water was turned on and barely any counter space to keep items from your vanity case. The breakfast was included in the room charge and I was really looking forward to this. But, whilst they had a huge variety, the taste was not good. My omlette was undercooked (the cheese didn't even melt), the pastries were not fresh, bordering on stale and the coffee was really awful.

All in all, not a terrible experience because we were there for such a short time but I did expect better and I definitely won't stay there again which is unfortunate because the Sun Bet arena, which is next to the hotel (maybe 100m) seems to be the preferred concert venue these days.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kareena2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hazel Makwela, Guest Services / Front Office at The Maslow Hotel Time Square, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2023

Dear Kareena,
We appreciate your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us.
On behalf of the entire team please accept our most sincere apologies for the frustration and discomfort caused to you while our guest. Please be assured that your detailed feedback has reached the attention of all involved and corrective action is place with the relevant head of departments considering the areas of concern.
Regards,
Hazel Makwela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2023

Very comfortable stay. The pillows were the largest and most comfortable ever.

I attended a dinner banquet on the one evening, as part of a conference delegation. My meal had been prepared in accordance with special dietary requirements and our waitress went above and beyond to ensure I was well looked after and happy. The food on all 3 days of my stay was fantastic. Overall very good.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 18 May 2023

Dear debbiefl7594DJ,

We are delighted to receive your positive feedback following your stay with us. The Food & Beverage and Housekeeping team respectively appreciate your valued comments and have shared it with the rest of the teams. Your feedback is surely motivating and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future should your travels bring you back to Pretoria.

Sincere regards,

Hazel Makwela

Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2023 via mobile

Very poorly run hotel. Never stay here.
2 of 4 elevators not working
Each time my driver approaches the boom gate they are challenged and directed to the car park (even when I am in the car)
The room a/c does not cool the room until 2 am
Woke up this morning with no water until 7:30. Was told maintenance cut the pipe to repair a drip. No notice given.
Told we can use the roof top bar and pool but first have to go to ground floor to ask staff to let us use the elevator (only half of which work).

Do not send anyone here.

Room tip: Go to another hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Kruiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenine Booysen, Guest Services / Front Office at The Maslow Hotel Time Square, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2023

Dear Kruiza,
We are so sorry to learn that your stay with us was disappointing. Your constructive comments have been shared with the management team for further review and actions. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the frustration and inconvenience caused to you while our guest.
Sincere regards,
Jenine Booysen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2023 via mobile

The hotel itself is fine the room was spotless and comfortable, the check-in process painless and they allowed a late check out without problems.

My complaint is with the Breakfast which if not included in the room rate is whopping 290zar. And was simply appalling, I would have been uncomfortable paying 29zar for what was prepared. What made things so much worse was that none of the staff seemed to actually care, this is buffet dining, with everything cooked up front and kept warm which is quite common, however when I say warm that is a relative term, it was barely warm, and the streaky bacon was actually stone cold as the heating lamp was not working. The yogurt was certainly a very cheap imitation. So if your idea of having a fine breakfast involves Luke warm food poorly prepared, with poor staff that don't seem too terribly interested in anything then I guess you are in for a real treat.

Room tip: Avoid the breakfast
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Byrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenine Booysen, Guest Services / Front Office at The Maslow Hotel Time Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2023

Dear Byrt,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. On behalf of the entire team please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting standard. We appreciate your constructive comments and assure that your feedback has been shared with Food & Beverage Management team for further review and action.
Sincere regards,
Jenine Booysen
Guest Relations Manager
Sun The Maslow Hotel Time Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2023

I was a bit concerned that we were booked here after reading mixed reviews but found the hotel perfect for our three nights. Rooms were large and perfectly clean. Breakfast choices were extensive. Good location with restaurants in small shopping mall across the road and above the casino. Hotel took us to larger mall about ten minutes away in hotel car. Drop off pick up was in the VIP lounge. Very nice! Glad we stayed here after all. On a downside, the interior is rather dark with decor mainly browns, grey and purple. But not an issue as it is perfectly clean.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank imcwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenine Booysen, Guest Services / Front Office at The Maslow Hotel Time Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2023

Dear imcwh,
We are truly pleased to receive your positive feedback shared with the Tripadvisor community and certainly hope that your travels will bring you back to Sun The Malsow Hotel Time Square very soon.

Warm regards,
Jenine Booysen
Guest Relations Manager
Sun The Malsow Hotel Time Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews