We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Upmarket Pub Vibe and Unique Smoked Menu”
Review of Hogshead Centurion

Hogshead Centurion
Ranked #127 of 753 Restaurants in Pretoria
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Description: For the best burgers in town, authentic smokehouse menu, widest range of craft beer, and delectable cocktails...
Restaurant details
Description: For the best burgers in town, authentic smokehouse menu, widest range of craft beer, and delectable cocktails...
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Nice Upmarket Pub Vibe and Unique Smoked Menu. Best smoked menu and taste Ive had. Smoked in authentic smokers right in the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2017

Hi Amith,
Thank you for the great review! Glad you enjoyed our smokehouse classics! We look forward to your next visit with us! Cheers, Hogshead Centurion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

What a nice addition to Centurion. One of my best experiences to date. Nice vibe. Warm atmosphere due to gas heaters outside. Food of excellent quality and taste. We had the smoked bacon starter, the pulled pork spring rolls and the jelepeno poppers. Main meal was the smoked brisket and point rump. Really enjoyed it. Forecasting the Hogshead will son enter the Top 10 list of Centurion.

Thank marcopG5359RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 August 2017

Hi marcopG5359RS,

Thank you for taking the time to review us we really appreciate it! Thank you for joining us, it is always so great to get such great feedback especially on our smokehouse options from our menu!
We look forward to your next visit with us!

Cheers,

Hogshead Centurion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We decided to try out the new Hogshead Restaurant in our area. We arrived at 12h00 for lunch and were informed that the kitchen was still preparing for lunch and would only open around 12h15. My husband ordered the Eisbein, my son the Haloumi salad and I ordered the mushroom and haloumi burger when the kitchen opened. We waited an hour for our food and the Eisbein was the only meal that was decent. The Haloumi salad was drowning in oil and there were very few mushrooms in the mushroom and Haloumi burger. The chips looked as though they had been swimming in the oil before the oil had warmed up. Would not recommend eating here although I suppose they cater for drinkers who aren't too worried about what they eat. I would recommend any of the other restaurants at Mall@Reds and most serve beer and wine before eating at Hogshead again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rozp283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2017

Good day , Firstly thank you for coming through to us, and for bringing this to our attention. On behalf of Hogshead Centurion we would like to apologize profusely for the experience you had at our store. If you could please email myself (Hylton) on centurion@hogshead.co.za with the date of your visit and who assisted you on that that day so that I could review the footage on our CCTV cameras to investigate this matter further, as it is unacceptable with regards to the waiting time as well as the quality of food that was sent out. Our opening time is 12h00 but we normally open 30 minutes prior to our stipulated operating hours as to accommodate our clients. With regards to the catering to certain cliental, I can assure you that we are catering to wide variety of clients and not to "drinkers", we have families as well as pensioners that frequent our premises regularly. We look forward to your feedback so that we can get to the bottom of the matter at hand. Please make a turn and ask for either myself (Hylton) or Cliff, so that we can personally take care of you to ensure that you get the standard of service and the quality of food that all of our clients deserve. Cheers, Hylton, General Manager, Hogshead Centurion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I don't generally go to new restaurants until they have been going a while,.
But curiosity got the better of me. The décor is a cross between industrial steam punk and an alfresco beer hall.
seating is either at the pub on pub style seating or two seater round tables,. Alternatively outdoors on bench style seating. Despite the cold weather they had strategically placed heaters. The food was a revelation The eisbein is stunning. Steaks are unbeatable, very good smoked ribs. Sweet potato chips an option for the banters. The smoked crispy bacon from their own smoker was a winner and their hake and chips was exceptional we have been back a few times. The staff are friendly, welcoming and well trained. Well worth a visit, but be warned this is a popular venue and you may have to wait.
They have 10 craft beers on tap, craft gin and a modest but acceptable wine list.
if at the Reds mall give it a whirl.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 May 2017

Good day Clive,

Thank you for the review, we really appreciate it!
It's always great to see that our customers are enjoying their experience with us.
We truly pride ourselves on the quality of food and service we offer, and we are ecstatic to see that it is coming to fruition.
Looking forward to you next visit which I'm sure will be extremely soon.

Cheers for now,

Hogshead Centurion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Wow - I hope it was not just a case of a new broom....but this was a super supper. I love tappas, and being a banter it is not always easy to find a restaurant that can cater for all your needs. But this place certainly does. We had a tappas platter of wings (just ask for no basting), pork belly (no basting), sweet potato chips, grilled haloumi cheese and crispy bacon. Deeeelicious. They have ample heaters for outside seating in the winter. The service was excellent as well. Will definately return.

Thank Annali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 May 2017

Good day Annali,

Thank you so very much for the review!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed you time at Hogshead Centurion!
Glad you enjoyed your meal.

Looking forward to many returning visits with us.

Cheers for now,

Hogshead Centurion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hogshead Centurion also viewed

 

Been to Hogshead Centurion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing