We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christo L

Disappointment and Despair

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 May 2024
My friends and I attended Helena Hettema's performance at the Ivor Monari Manor Boutique Hotel on May 18, 2024. While Hettema's performance was brilliant and stunning, our overall experience was disappointing.
We paid R350.00 each for a meal that was supposed to accompany the performance. The menu included a beetroot and fig salad as a starter, a choice between red snapper fish or beef for the main course, and a classic tiramisu for dessert.
We were instructed to arrive at 18:30 for a 19:00 start. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a sherry, but there was confusion regarding our table arrangement. We were not seated at our designated table, and the performance started late. Despite asking the waiter and other staff members for information about the meal service, none could provide any details or explanations.
Eventually, we were served soup as a starter, which was not what we had been promised. When we inquired about the original menu, no one could explain the change. Dinner was not served until about 10 PM, after the second part of the show. By then, we were famsihed, only to discover that the meal was being served buffet-style on the patio. We were given curry and rice, which was poorly prepared. The food was overly spicy, and some guests couldn't eat it. Some people left out of frustration.
After the final part of the performance, dessert was announced, but there was again confusion about its service. It was evident that the owner's mother and friends received preferential treatment, as they were served immediately.
We requested to speak with the manager or owner, but when the owner came to our table, she walked away without addressing our concerns. Her dismissive attitude shocked us.
Ivor Monari Manor Boutique Hotel claims to provide hands-on, friendly, and personalized service, but our experience contradicted this. The issues we faced were not resolved by simply offering a complimentary glass of wine. We left the hotel disappointed and saddened, as what could have been a beautiful night was marred by poor service and mismanagement.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Don't waist your money
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 3 915
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 3 915
  • Trip.com
    R 3 861
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 914
7.4 km from Ivory Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 622
  • Priceline
    R 1 622
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 622
  • Vio.com
    R 1 622
9.1 km from Ivory Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast room
R 1 145
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 850
  • Agoda.com
    R 789
  • Expedia.com
    R 816
11.4 km from Ivory Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
R 604
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 690
  • Agoda.com
    R 550
  • Expedia.com
    R 620
13.0 km from Ivory Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Double Room
R 760
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 865
  • Agoda.com
    R 645
  • Expedia.com
    R 865
12.6 km from Ivory Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Reception
R 839
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 842
  • Agoda.com
    R 752
  • Expedia.com
    R 990
12.8 km from Ivory Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 1 190
  • Priceline
    R 1 190
  • Trip.com
    R 1 174
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 190
22.9 km from Ivory Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
R 950
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 950
  • Agoda.com
    R 950
25.5 km from Ivory Manor Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 532
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 532
  • Vio.com
    R 532
  • eDreams
11.8 km from Ivory Manor Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pretoria
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
141
9
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
141
9
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail cigar lounge rose garden baby shower wow wow wow immaculate gardens an absolute treat the general manager comfortable room fantastic stay excellent location beautiful hotel venue wedding gate accommodation conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

From the start of replying to emails and going out their way to ensure this special celebration would be just that - special! The ambience was perfect, good food and great wine! Thank you for going out your way to create a memorable evening! Just amazing and forever grateful!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mobile01039522565
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Ivory Manor is a special hotel. Away from the noise, hustle and bustle, it is an oasis of calm, great gardens and lovely rooms.

There are only a few rooms but the area is quite large, with lots of lovey rooms including a wine cellar and some lovely art on the walls.

We had a great evening meal and breakfast and it felt special.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ColinGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

Wow! What a beautiful hotel. We arrived on a one night stay in Pretoria with no expectations. The hotel was a complimentary part of our journey. The reality was a beautiful and luxurious boutique hotel in its own grounds. The staff were amazing and so attentive (special thanks to Hazel & Jeff(erson) you made us feel so special. The service was second to none. Everything was exceptional the food, wine and accommodation. We felt like it was our own private residence.

Room tip: Just go and experience it.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Very pretty hotel but if you use a wheelchair forget this one, it’s a nightmare not at all properly accessible. Restaurant up a flight of 12 stairs. Steps up to the ground floor room. Plus service really awful, management really don’t give a s**t and my husbands steak was inedible. Our pickup the following morning was much earlier than our itinerary stated with no explanation given. When we got home we complained and basically the hotel said we were lying!!!!! Great customer service NOT.

Room tip: Not for wheelchair users
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OnAir619639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

One has high expectations of this magnificent establishment. The gardens and layout are very well done.

But we are here for a meal and that is where everything just falls flat. The restaurant was not full and we waited for more than an hour for our food. The food was 'fancy' but bland. The chicken wrap had virtually no chicken in and the ceasar salad ordered as a starter arrived after our mains.

The chocolate cake desert (special of the day) was old and dry.

Service was okay.

My second disappointing visit and my last.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nico v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews