We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must do in Cape Town for beer lovers”
Review of Newlands Brewery

Newlands Brewery
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Newlands
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Home of Great South African Beer - Since 1820. Visit us, tour the brewery and taste our award-winning beers. Nestled at the foot of Devil's Peak and neighbour to the historic rugby & cricket grounds, is the oldest operating brewery in South Africa and the home of great South African beer - Newlands Brewery. Lovers of delicious, natural refreshment are invited to experience a taste of brewing history, followed by a look into modern-day brewing methods, by joining a fully guided tour of Newlands Brewery. The tour follows the journey of beer from its beginning as a grain, to its end as a well crafted, ice-cold treasure, fittingly ending with a beer tasting and a couple of pints in the brewery's historic underground pub.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must do in Cape Town for beer lovers”
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Nearly 200 years of history, some modern, some old in one of the best locations on earth.
How brewing was done 200 years ago, how it is done today, the history in the middle and some awesome craft beers to taste too. Dont miss this.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank JPRinZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beer in the winelands”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

This is either or 8th or 9th trip to Cape Town and we always meander around the various wine regions within a few hours of the cape. On a rather dull and wet morning we thought we would try something different and went for a tour at the newlands brewery and oh boy what a surprise. We have done a few in the UK and this puts them to shame. The ones in the uk are overpriced and so basic. With our tour guide alexa she was a brimming with information and enthusiasm. You must have an interest in beer and it's creation as the tour is around 45 minutes to an hour, but ours was near 70 minutes. But you went through the whole process and had a great tasting at the end. Worth every penny and knocks the socks off wine tastings we have done. My wife judges for the international wine challenge from time to time, so she knows her stuff and it's even a thumbs up from her.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank stevegarforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
406 reviews
264 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great tour ”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Went there with friends. Went through the entire plant, the packaging lines were the most interesting, the guide was well informed. The highlight was the beer tasting at the end

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tour”
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Went to Newlands Brewery ,really worth it,2 hours minimum as beer tasting and two free beers afterwards needs to be savored.Shop is reasonably priced and guide is knowledgeable and helpful ,I really recommend this to people who like beer.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank samsunburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice thing to do”
Reviewed 10 December 2016

When my parents visited it rained a lot the one day, and Cape Town is at its best when the weather is nice. We decided to get a tour at the brewery and were not disappointed. A fun thing to do

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Alf Robin G. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newlands Brewery also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Newlands Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing