We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing brewery tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newlands Brewery

Newlands Brewery
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Newlands
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Home of Great South African Beer - Since 1820. Visit us, tour the brewery and taste our award-winning beers. Nestled at the foot of Devil's Peak and neighbour to the historic rugby & cricket grounds, is the oldest operating brewery in South Africa and the home of great South African beer - Newlands Brewery. Lovers of delicious, natural refreshment are invited to experience a taste of brewing history, followed by a look into modern-day brewing methods, by joining a fully guided tour of Newlands Brewery. The tour follows the journey of beer from its beginning as a grain, to its end as a well crafted, ice-cold treasure, fittingly ending with a beer tasting and a couple of pints in the brewery's historic underground pub.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing brewery tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

What an aweasome experience to go though a Brewery, soo interesting to see how beer is made (a real must)

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank DylanAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2016

A very interesting and informative experience. Our guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic. I am a home-brewer and it was fascinating to see the similarities between my small operation and the huge scale of a large commercial operation. We loved the tour and beer tasting, and of course the 2x free beers we got at the pub at the end of the tour. The pub had their regular beers, beers from their microbrewery as well as some imported beers from plants they own outside of South Africa.

Well worth the visit.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank CraigStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour for beer lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016

I'm not a beer drinker, but it was my second visit at the brewery. It is a value for money experience. The tour is about an hour long which ends at a tasting of 5 beers + 2 beers or cold drinks of your choice. Make sure you have at least 2 hours for this attraction.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Janitha_DeKock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“MUST DO FOR RAINY AFTERNOON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

50R for students! Great tour (guide was brilliant and was interested in getting to know us individually!). Tour+tasting+2 pints... Absolute bargain.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great Brewery Tour and Beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2016

Had a very interesting brewery tour and a tasting of some great beers after the tasting. Two hours of just great fun.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank wendyburridge2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newlands Brewery also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Newlands Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing