We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Polite & courteous Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newlands Brewery

Newlands Brewery
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Newlands
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Home of Great South African Beer - Since 1820. Visit us, tour the brewery and taste our award-winning beers. Nestled at the foot of Devil's Peak and neighbour to the historic rugby & cricket grounds, is the oldest operating brewery in South Africa and the home of great South African beer - Newlands Brewery. Lovers of delicious, natural refreshment are invited to experience a taste of brewing history, followed by a look into modern-day brewing methods, by joining a fully guided tour of Newlands Brewery. The tour follows the journey of beer from its beginning as a grain, to its end as a well crafted, ice-cold treasure, fittingly ending with a beer tasting and a couple of pints in the brewery's historic underground pub.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Polite & courteous Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2016

I booked well in advance, unfortunately due to minor communication problems I was privileged to a solo trip round the brewery , to which I must express my thanks to Alexia for her kindness to take the time and trouble to be so kind and considerate.
This must be a excursion not to be missed for anybody visiting the Cape,
My tip buy a tourist rail ticket then make a day off it, brewery cricket and rugby stadiums ,then the Brass Bell for lunch , Navel museum Boulders Beach penguins and it's all so cost effective (Cheap)

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank WINCHMAN6871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Tour ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

This is my 4th Visit to Newlands Brewery and is very good lets you know what you want to know and if you any Questions all you need to do is ask also great to see Newlands do there bit for craft beer great bottling plant here also

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank ian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a must do”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2016

The tour is informative enough but not well presented. Our tour guide was decent but rather boring! It is nice to see the inner workings of the brewery and would have been even better if presented well. I just expected more from a tour leader.

The beer tasting at the end was great fun! And the bar you get two free drinks at has an excellent atmosphere. I may recommend the tour for the tasting alone.

All in all, it is a nice to do when you have the time, but not a must do item.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank AnnalienSteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun experience even if you are not keen on beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2016

Very informative, nice beer tasting at the end which even light beer drinkers can enjoy, probably best to get a responsible driver for your group

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank flipfl0ps10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinelands, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent back-end experience of local beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2016

The brewery tour was very informative - the tour guide had extensive knowledge and kept it interesting. Not too short nor long, the tour was a great experience that kept momentum. It was very interesting to see the inside of the brewery and how the beer move through the production cycle before it lands on the shelves in our local liquor stores. The tour ended with a tasting of 5 different beers, which was very unexpected and a great surprise.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank Mignon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newlands Brewery also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Newlands Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing