We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Newlands
Nearby Hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands(Newlands)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernwood Manor(Newlands)
US$145
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaqui's Garden Guesthouse(Newlands)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wild Olive Guest House(Newlands)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedge House(Newlands)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Hotel(Newlands)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reading House(Newlands)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
296
162
36
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
162
36
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstsogo sunexcellent serviceindian restaurantcape townbreakfast stafftwo oceansgo the extra mileroom servicehotel is situatedpleasant stayclean roomsenjoyed my staycavendish squareeasy accessnewlands rugby stadiumlovely viewhigh quality
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I was in Cape Town for AURI conference. The hotel is a good place for that purpose. I was there for 2 days. Others for 5 days. Is there anything I didn't like about the place? I am not sure. Or was I too busy I didn't take notice? I don't think so. I am an Architect and the eye for beauty. I think my eyes were pleased.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank hkboafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Good day,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands. It was really a pleasure to host the AURI conference.

Again, thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I was a bit disappointed with the level of service i have received this time around in your stay. The return time on food ordered at your restaurant,you order food very early but you always get it late anywhere, is one time dinner arrived when i was sleeping already. The laundry taking forever to get my clothes... i was disappointed guys. I hope this feedback will help you with continuous improvement within the business

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank amandlan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Good day,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I do apologise for the subsequent frustrations and inconvenience caused during your time with us. We have noted your feedback regarding the food orders and the delay with the laundry and will certainly address it with my team.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback and therefore allowing us to improve on these inefficiencies.

Again, thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Southern Sun Newlands has exceptional service! Hospitality and great tasting food.
Location is just what you want, close to the mountain yet near the malls if you need to buy something.
Totally enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank MajPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Good day,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands.

Again, thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town.

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We spent a few days in Cape Town as a family and found this hotel to be in a great location to access highways and bi-ways to all areas of the Cape. Staff are hospitable: pleasant, welcoming, go the extra mile and a good reflection on the management of the hotel. The breakfast offering was varied, well presented and a good start to the day! Rooms are comfortable and clean and apart from this, we had a lovely view of the mountain!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank AmandaLovesItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Amanda,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands and the Mother City.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

The service was excellent and all staff were extremely helpful, courteous and accommodating which really impressed us especially Hazel and Wilson at reception. Room was abit small but comfortable and clean. The hotel is well situated close to various amenities and shopping centres are walking distance. For the price paid at a Southern Sun hotel, it was well worth it. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank noshina2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Good day,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews