We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable travel experience and service excellence.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Newlands
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I must admit, as a regular user of Tsogo Sun Hotels, this was the best I have stayed at. The service from check-in right up to departure was out of this world and I would definitely stay there should I go to Cape Town anytime soon.

Well done and keep up the good work, Southern Sun Newlands Team!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank obakengk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Obakeng,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I appreciate your positive feedback and I am delighted that the Southern Sun Newlands team created a memorable experience for you.

Again, thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards
Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night at the Southern Sun Newlands and it was a really good experience. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and the room service amazing. Breakfast was yummy and the service efficient. There was adequate secure parking. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Desire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Desire,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands and really appreciate your positive feedback.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again.

Kind regards
Hannes Human

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

My first stay on business in Cape Town South Africa. Staff were amazing - helpful, efficient and friendly at all times. My room was spacious, very clean with all amenities and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast excellent and food in both restaurants again first class. My only recommendation would for the hotel to have an outside area for relaxing . I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Brenda

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are really delighted that you enjoyed the Southern Sun Newlands hopitality and the Mother City. Thank you for the recommendation, I will most certainly relay this to our development team.

Again, thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?
Kind regards
Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Great service and always a pleasure to stay at this hotel. Staff service is always at a high standard.wanted a breakfast in the room at 4am which was provided , very impressive indeed. Will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Shmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Good day Shmsy,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us when you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Excellent stay as usual, Upgrade was a bonus. Unfortunately didn't have much time there to really enjoy the stay, but check-in, check-out and room service was excellent.
Hazel at reception was a pleasure to deal with....

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 948maneshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Mr Singh

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted that you had a memorable experience with us. I will pass you feedback on to Hazel, she is a remarkable person.

Again, thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you need our assistance?

Kind regards
Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0,1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0,7 km away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1 363 reviews
4,5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7,6 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1 761 reviews
7,7 km away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2 083 reviews
7,6 km away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Address: 7 Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: R1 443 - R2 926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing