We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wild Olive Guest House(Newlands)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands(Newlands)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$307
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Glenhaven Cottages(Newlands)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reading House(Newlands)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jaqui's Garden Guesthouse(Newlands)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedge House(Newlands)
US$133
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Hotel(Newlands)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
302
162
36
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
162
36
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstsogo sunexcellent serviceindian restaurantcape townbreakfast staffexceeded my expectationstwo oceansgo the extra mileroom servicehotel is situatedpleasant stayenjoyed my stayclean roomseasy accessnewlands rugby stadiumlovely viewcavendish shopping centre
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

My first stay on business in Cape Town South Africa. Staff were amazing - helpful, efficient and friendly at all times. My room was spacious, very clean with all amenities and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast excellent and food in both restaurants again first class. My only recommendation would for the hotel to have an outside area for relaxing . I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Brenda

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are really delighted that you enjoyed the Southern Sun Newlands hopitality and the Mother City. Thank you for the recommendation, I will most certainly relay this to our development team.

Again, thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?
Kind regards
Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Great service and always a pleasure to stay at this hotel. Staff service is always at a high standard.wanted a breakfast in the room at 4am which was provided , very impressive indeed. Will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Shmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Good day Shmsy,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us when you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Excellent stay as usual, Upgrade was a bonus. Unfortunately didn't have much time there to really enjoy the stay, but check-in, check-out and room service was excellent.
Hazel at reception was a pleasure to deal with....

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 948maneshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Mr Singh

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We are delighted that you had a memorable experience with us. I will pass you feedback on to Hazel, she is a remarkable person.

Again, thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you need our assistance?

Kind regards
Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

As always. A memorable experience. I would like to personally thank Yonella and Agnes and Ricardo for their effort in always trying to make our stay a great one. They make us feel at home away from home. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank xolanic590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Xolani,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I will personally thank Yonella, Agnes and Ricardo for their efforts to ensure that you have a memorable time.

We appreciate you loyalty to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for choosing us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you need our assistance.

Kind Regards
Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

It was a pleasure to be back at Southern Sun Newlands. This time I had the opportunity to have dinner with my colleagues at the hotel, and it was a wonderful experience. The food was tasty and well presented, I even wanted to have a bite at all my colleague's food. That is how good the food presentation was.

The room was well looked after, comfortable bed and chair. Breakfast was great, I enjoyed it very much. I can never resist their bacon, Latte and Caramel fudge chip muffin.

It is unfortunate that work kept me away from all the wonderful surroundings in the area, especially when table mountain is just a kilometer away, the site of table mountain with a blanket of clouds is breath taking on the first day, the view was more spectacular the next day, it was a sunny and clear day.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank selaelom2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear selaelom2016,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I am really delighted that you have enjoyed your time as Southern Sun Newlands and that the team looked after you during this time. Your positive feedback is well received.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you travel to the Mother City again.

Kind regards
Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews