We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, location and service”

The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant & Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Newlands
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 10 February 2020

The food is always delicious, the best in the area! It is lovely being able to sit outside under the trees on a nice day.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hancocksl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2020

nice food, lovely service, great ambiance . an amazing place for breakfast and brunch will definitely be back

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2019

My brother-in-law took me here for brekky after a run in Cecilia Forest around the corner. Without a doubt the best Eggs Benedict I've ever had in my life!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank druidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

Awesome venue and friendly staff, yummy foods. Vegetarian breakfast is my favorite.
We were sitting meters away from the trees, listening to its whisper.
Love this venue and definitely recommended!

Date of visit: November 2019
2  Thank Faith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2019 via mobile

As always quality of food and service excellent.
We booked a table for 08h30 and on arrival were told it had been rebooked for 10h30 so we would need to be finished by then...!!!
We would have had another round of coffee if we hadn't had to leave...while this didn't completely spoil the visit, it was rather disconcerting being told to leave when the next booking arrived.
I would like to suggest that if there is a policy of limiting time at a table, that clients are informed of this when making their bookings - they can then decide whether they want to book for a limited time only.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank H31R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant & Coffee Shop also viewed

Claremont, Cape Town
Newlands, Cape Town
 

Been to The Gardeners Cottage Restaurant & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.