We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
ZenHotels.com
R 919
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Therichpeasant
Toronto, Canada
A Bit Disorganized & Like Living in a Hostel
Review of The Cradle Rest
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jun 2019
Our large group of relatives book four family suites to sleep after a family wedding close by. When we arrived, one of the suites was still under construction, so the staff had to move some beds into another suite. So, we had to have 7 beds in one suite, sharing a single bathroom. It was like living in a hostel.

The suites are clean and beds are comfortable. The kitchenettes are adequate. Security in and out of the facility is good. Our bed and breakfast option was strange, as we had to drive a few miles down the road to a restaurant to have our breakfast.

Overall, it was a bit disappointing.
Date of stay: June 2019
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 1 257
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from The Cradle Rest
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 1 706
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 706
6.5 km from The Cradle Rest
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 609
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 896
2.4 km from The Cradle Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.2 km from The Cradle Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from The Cradle Rest
Free parking
Pool
Kitchenette
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 347
  • Priceline
9.3 km from The Cradle Rest
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 539
  • Priceline
6.2 km from The Cradle Rest
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
7.3 km from The Cradle Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
10.4 km from The Cradle Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Muldersdrift
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
3
2
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
2
1
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Not at all what’s advertised. Decided to book a night to stay over after a wedding nearby. No security at gate made entering rather risky. Reception area looked very delapidated and pool an empty pit. The lady in charge was waiting outside and just handed us our key and vaguely pointed in the direction of our room. Although clean, room left much to be desired: broken toilet seat, leaking roof, and if I was needing to use the kitchenette, don’t think I would even have risked it. After hanging around for quite some time in the morning, and going to find out, notified that breakfast is only served at 9. Went to check it out, but after seeing the kitchen, decided to go grab a Wimpy breakfast on our way home. Giving the key back to the same lady (who I’m sure was cleaning the other rooms) I notified her of toilet etc. Her reply was “I know the place is nothing like in the website. I’ll tell the owner” Will not recommended the place to anyone! Pity, as it’s in the wedding belt and could have such potential

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 355meganr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Check out the pics - this is exactly what you get. A neat and simple country experience just a short drive out of Johanneburg, on surprisingly good roads!

I spent a day here on a corporate retreat and can highly recommend it as an easy to reach venue for a large group of people.

Horses, peacocks, sheep and ducks - and two small play areas for kids. Will be coming back with my 3-year old daughter one nice spring weekend...

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Bilal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2017

As a tourist it is surely better to leave Johannesburg as fast as possible, but exhausted after a long flight, it's dangerous to drive too long. This nice place is located one hour from Tambo Airport west of Joburg. It is set in a quiet, safe area, near the cradle of humankind, a huge mall and many restaurants. The lady is very helpful, welcoming and the chalets are great, large, comfortable and clean. You'll enjoy the garden where peacocks roam, and monkeys too sometimes.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafarimanRennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on the 4th of March 2017. We were greatly disappointed by the place. The buildings are dilapidated, the room had a smell like wet dog (no offence to dogs) and was also in need of proper maintenance. The other guests were extremely noisy and partied until around midnight and we had to get up at 4h30. Not a good experience at all.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank IsabelR3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2017

On the 2nd of January, I booked 2 rooms for my family and my parents on the Cradle Rest. We thought it would be nice to "rest" and chill after having woken up early for a Balloon Ride.

We got there, had a shower and tried to have a nap. However, it was extremely hot in the rooms an the fans either did not work or were severely ineffective. Since rooms are attached, the noise from next door guests, simply from their conversing immediately outside our door, was loud enough to prevent sleep. Moreover, the owner's extended family spent the day on the premises basically monopolizing the property. The pool was occupied by dozens of screaming and splashing kids making it a no go. We decided to leave. Mosquitos, flies, stale and smelly rooms made it the opposite of the resting experience we were hoping for.

We paid for our overnight stay, even tough we did not stay overnight. The only refund we sought was for the breakfast we would not have. We asked manager Anne Marie if she would return the breakfast money to us, since we had already prepaid for breakfast. She said she would do that without hesitation via transfer. To this day, we haven't received anything.

Please get in touch with us and kindly refund the breakfast that we didn't consume since we left the premises at 5:00 pm. Needless to say, our experience was very disappointing.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 799worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews